Thursday, October 31, 2013

Wilde For Her by Tonya Burrows, Blog Tour: Excerpt & Giveaway


Welcome to today's WILDE FOR HER Brazen book tour. Today's stop features an excerpt and a giveaway! Warning, today's excerpt is for mature eyes ONLY! This excerpt is context taken right out of the book, and these books are ADULT books. Guilty Pleasure readers, this title is NOW available!


Friends with benefits just got hotter.


Former homicide detective Camden Wilde has been in love with his ex-partner, Eva Cardoso, for longer than he cares to admit. Not that it matters. She’s shoved him into the friend zone, and after living through the hell of his parents’ violent deaths, Cam’s unable to give her the idyllic life she secretly desires.


Eva’s never met a person who hasn’t let her down. Cam may be sex personified, but he’s the only man she can trust, and there’s no way she’ll risk their friendship on the off-chance they could be more. Especially not after the one scintillating night she’s trying—and failing—to forget.


When a murder-for-hire contract on his head lands Eva on his doorstep, Cam knows it’s time to put up or shut up. He’s done biding his time, and he’ll be damned if he lets the delectable detective ignore what’s between them, no matter the cost.


Buy Links for Wilde for Her


Connect with Tonya Burrows

Read an Excerpt: (For MATURE READER EYES ONLY)


Walking out of the kitchen was the hardest thing he had ever done, knowing that this might be the end of their friendship and he’d never see her again when the snowstorm ended. But she had to make a choice and she couldn’t do it with him hanging around, riling her up.
He shut himself in the en suite off his bedroom and leaned on the sink, refusing to let the sense of defeat rising in his chest get him down. She wanted him as much as he did her. He knew it without a shred of doubt. So why was it so damn hard for her to admit?
“She’ll come around,” he told his reflection. He just had to be patient a little longer.
But, hell, after five years he was nearly out of patience.
Groaning at himself, he shoved away from the sink and stripped off his sweatpants. He started the shower and jumped in without checking the water temp, welcoming the blast of ice over his head until his nipples pebbled, goose bumps prickled across his skin, and his boys threatened shrinkage. Only then did he adjust the water to a more comfortable temperature, but that was as far as he got. A hot shower wasn’t the kind of heat he’d wanted when he woke up this morning. Stupid of him to hope for more from her, but after last night’s mutual masturbation session, he had.
She’d called his name as she came. And he imagined her doing it again as he pounded mercilessly into her, punishing her for making him so crazy.
His cock strained out from his body, looking for something it wasn’t going to get any time soon. He wrapped a hand around his shaft, stroking it none too gently, punishing himself for wanting something he shouldn’t. But, yeah, his heart wasn’t in it. Besides, there was something sleazy about whacking off in the shower when the object of his desire sat in the other room. Disgusted, he reached for the bar of soup—
And the bathroom door opened.
Holy shit. He almost didn’t dare look and turned slowly, afraid he might spook her. Through the steaming glass of the shower door, he watched her strip off her shirt and drop it beside his pants. Next, she reached around to unclasp her bra and that hit the floor, too, her nipples pebbling in the humid air. He swallowed a groan as she slid her thumbs into the waistband of her sweatpants and pushed them down. She wasn’t wearing panties.
She pulled open the shower door, but hesitated and lifted her gaze to his.
This was it, the part where she’d start worrying and second guessing. He saw the indecision in her eyes and braced himself for the sting of yet another rejection. If she ran this time, he would not chase her. If she ran… Well, that would probably be the death of everything good between them.
“I want you, too,” she said and stepped into the shower, closing the door firmly behind her.
Enter To Win
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Sophie Jordan's FOREPLAY Book Trailer is Now LIVE!

Check it out! Sophie Jordan's upcoming New Adult release, FOREPLAY has a book trailer! Before you check out the hot trailer, here's a little bit about the book:


FOREPLAY:
Before she goes after the life she’s always wanted, she’s about to find the one she needs.

Pepper has been hopelessly in love with her best friend’s brother, Hunter, for like ever. He’s the key to everything she’s always craved: security, stability, family. But she needs Hunter to notice her as more than just a friend. Even though she’s kissed exactly one guy, she has just the plan to go from novice to rock star in the bedroom-take a few pointers from someone who knows what he’s doing.

Her college roommates have the perfect teacher in mind. But bartender Reece is nothing like the player Pepper expects. Yes, he’s beyond gorgeous, but he’s also dangerous, deep-with a troubled past. Soon what started as lessons in attraction are turning both their worlds around, and showing just what can happen when you go past foreplay and get to what’s real…

Pre-Order it from: Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Add it to Goodreads

CHECK OUT THIS TRAILER



About Sophie Jordan

Sophie Jordan took her adolescent daydreaming one step further and penned her first historical romance in the back of her high school Spanish class. This passion led her to pursue a degree in English and History.

A brief stint in law school taught her that case law was not nearly as interesting as literature - teaching English seemed the natural recourse. After several years teaching high school students to love Antigone, Sophie resigned with the birth of her first child and decided it was time to pursue the long-held dream of writing.

In less than three years, her first book, Once Upon A Wedding Night, a 2006 Romantic Times Reviewers' Choice Nominee for Best First Historical, hit book shelves. Her second novel, Too Wicked To Tame, released in March 2007 with a bang, landing on the USA Today Bestseller's List

Follow Sophie via: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads


Want to win a copy of FOREPLAY? FOLLOW our Foreplay Tour and Enter to Win HERE!

Halloween Reads from William Morrow


Looking for something a little spooky to read this Halloween? Check out these titles from William Morrow Books!

Joe Hill’s (Heart-Shaped Box and Horns) latest novel, NOS4A2 (William Morrow; Trade Paperback On Sale October 15, 2013) is his magnum opus, a tour-de-force of heart-stopping horror and nightmarish terror that is also powerful, wrenching, and redemptive. Definitely his best, most terrifying, and most sophisticated novel to date. Victoria McQueen is a very special girl with a “gift” for traveling anywhere to retrieve lost objects of importance to people. Charlie Manx is a very evil man who kidnaps children is his Rolls-Royce with the vanity license plate NOS4A2 and takes them to a place he calls “Christmasland,” where every day is Christmas morning, and you never grow up and you never die. But you are turned into something absolutely terrifying. Young Victoria is the only child to ever escape Charlie’s unmitigated evil. Now Vic McQueen is all grown up and trying to put the past behind her. But Manx is back on the road again and he’s picked up a new passenger: Vic’s young son Wayne.

HELP FOR THE HAUNTED by John Searles (On Sale: September 17, 2013; William Morrow)
"Everyone has a ghost story, or at least that’s how it has always seemed to me,” says author John Searles, who recently wrote about visiting an unlikely tourist attraction -- the Trans-Allegheny Lunatic Asylum in Weston, West Virginia, for The New York Times. (http://travel.nytimes.com/2013/10/13/travel/getting-into-the-spirit.html?_r=0). Searles’ latest novel, HELP FOR THE HAUNTED, is the perfect Halloween treat.  One of the best reviewed novels of the season (“Dazzling” says Gillian Flynn, of Gone Girl fame), it’s a ghost story in the classic sense, but also a compelling coming-of-age tale that has captured the hearts of readers and critics alike. In it, narrator Sylvie Mason tries to uncover the secrets behind her ghost-chasing parents’ deaths one cold winter night, and finds truths and mysteries that run much deeper than she ever imagined. (John Searles on NBC’s Weekend Today:  http://www.today.com/video/today/53320846#53320846).

THE DEAD RUN by Adam Mansbach (On sale: September 24, 2013; Harper Voyager)
A supernatural thriller set in the US/Mexican borderland by the #1 New York Times bestselling author of GO THE F*** TO SLEEP. On both sides of the border, girls are going missing. Then, later, other bodies surface, and a small-town police chief faces an investigation worse than any he’s ever seen before. Kidnapped teen Sherry Nicholls manages to escape from a maniacal cult, but freeing herself was the easiest part.. Meanwhile, in a Mexican jail, unjustly-imprisoned estranged father Galvan accepts a devil’s bargain--transport a sinister package for the prison’s infamous Old Man across the border in 24 hours. If he can do so, he’ll be free and able to regain custody of his daughter. But there are more than coyotes in the desert, and as ancient evils resurface, everyone must face their deepest terrors.

DEAD SET by Richard Kadrey (On sale: October 29, 2013; Harper Voyager)
After her father’s funeral Zoe and her mother moved to the Big City to start over. But life’s not so easy, the money is tight and a new school always brings trials. Zoe’s only escape, as has been the case all her days, is in her dreams. A world apart from her troubled real life and the only place where she can spend time with her closest companion: her lost brother Valentine.

But something or someone has entered their dream world uninvited. And a chance encounter at a used record store where the vinyl holds not music, but lost souls, has opened up a world of the lives of the restless dead. It’s here that the strange proprietor offers her chances to commune with her dead father. The price? A lock of hair, a tooth, then ....

THE LADY AND HER MONSTERS: A Tale of Dissections, Real-Life Dr. Frankensteins, and the Creation of Mary Shelley's Masterpiece (On Sale: October 22, 2013; William Morrow Paperback)
Montillo holds her MFA from Emerson College where she teaches courses on literature and in THE LADY AND HER MONSTERS, she traces Mary Shelley's life story and the writing of Frankenstein and uses the novel to explore the dark world of early nineteenth-century science. The daughter of Mary Wollstonecraft, renowned feminist and author of A Vindication of the Rights of Women, and William Godwin, a political philosopher, Shelley spent much of her youth eavesdropping on private lectures hosted by her father in their family home, given by vibrant and rotating cast of scientists, poets, and philosophers. She grew up surrounded by a lively discourse and debate regarding the advancements of the scientific revolution and witnessed its effect over other cultural mediums of the times—like the arts. By the nineteenth century, the topic of reanimation was considered quite fashionable and many artistic disciplines overlapped. Shelley, as well as many of her colleagues, including her husband Percy Shelley, found themselves captivated by these scientific efforts and often infused their writing with this new found knowledge thus enabling the early concept of Frankenstein to take form. From maniacal body snatchers, to gruesome public dissections, and the details of Shelley and Percy Shelley’s relationship, Montillo carefully chronicles the unbelievable events during this period—all leading to the masterful creation of Frankenstein.
THE LADY AND HER MONSTERS is a shocking ride through the grotesque Industrial Age and into the Romantic Movement. Entertaining, provocative and rich with detail, this is a look at a literary classic that is not to be missed.

EVER AFTER by Kim Harrison (On sale: October 29. 2013; Harper Voyager, mass market)
The ever after, the demonic realm that parallels our own, is shrinking, and if it disappears, so does all magic in our own. It’s up to witch-turned-daywalking-demon Rachel Morgan to fix this, before life utterly changes for the worse.

Of course, there’s also the small fact that she caused the ley line to rip in the first place, and her life is forfeit unless she can fix it. And that the most powerful demon in the ever after--one who eats souls--has vowed to destroy Rachel, and kidnapped her friend and goddaughter as leverage. If Rachel doesn’t give herself up, they will die.

Rachel must team up with elven tycoon Trent Kalamack--a prospect both thrilling and dismaying--to return to the ever after and rescue the hostages, then keep both worlds from being destroyed.

New York Times bestselling author Ian Douglas returns with ABYSS DEEP (Harper Voyager, on-sale 10/29), book two of the Star Corpsman series, a new military SF series about the elite units of recon Marines and S/R Corpsmen who infiltrate alien worlds ahead of major military strikes and planetary invasion to gather intelligence on both the local environment and on the psychology and biology of the enemy.

Tuesday, October 29, 2013

Castle Hill by Samantha Young, Teaser

Check it out! Samantha Young posted a teaser from her upcoming release,


I shifted closer to him, resting my knee against his. “Do you want to wait in the first-class lounge? I’m sure it’s filled with stuffy businessmen types who will certainly shatter the very sexual mood we’ve got going on here with all their stiff-upper-lippishness.”
Braden’s mouth twitched. “Stiff-upper-lippishness?”
“Stiff-upper-lippishness.”
He nodded, laughing softly now as he got up out of the stool and helped me down from mine. Wrapping an arm around my waist, he said as he walked us toward the lounge, “Maybe we should stop using the word ‘stiff’ since apparently being married to you means losing control over my body and any self-respect I might have.”
“Grounds for divorce?” I teased as we showed our boarding passes to an airline attendant at the lounge doors.
“Grounds for a marathon fucking,” he answered dryly, not caring that the airline attendant had turned purple at his reply. “You won’t be able to walk for a while when I’m done with you,” he continued, gently guiding me into the lounge, leaving the gasping attendant behind.
I determinedly tried not to show my embarrassment, as I was used to him sometimes saying hot, blush-inducing shit like that to me in public. The key was to not let him know he’d flustered me.
“I’m happy with that as long as we’re talking multiple orgasms.”
Three suits turned their heads toward me from the small bar in the lounge, their eyebrows raised.
Braden and I stopped and I felt his hand squeeze my hip. “We’re going to get thrown out of the first-class lounge.”
I smirked. “You started it.”
“Actually, you started it.”
I heaved a sigh and glanced at my watch. “Well, unfortunately we’ve got about ten hours before we can finish it.”
Not looking too happy about that, Braden’s eyes swept the room, a glint entering them when they stalled on the restroom door.
“No,” I said immediately.
He threw me that boyish grin that was very, very difficult to resist.

PREORDER CASTLE HILL
RELEASING DEC 3RD 2013 IN DIGITAL FORMAT


Go HERE for more!

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Forgiving Lies & Foreplay Blog Tour: Interview with Molly McAdams & A Giveaway


Welcome to the next stop in the Forgiving Lies by Molly McAdams & Foreplay by Sophie Jordan blog tour, hosted by Mundie Mom Blog Tours & the Mundie Girl Blog Tour site. Today I'm thrilled to have Molly McAdams on the blog today to talk about her newest release, Forgiving Lies. 




Hi Molly! Welcome to Mundie Moms Guilty Pleasures blog. How would you describe Forgiving Lies in 5 words or less? 
Funny, hot, romantic, and suspenseful.


Which of your characters surprised you in terms of how much they grew/changed from outlining your book to the final draft?
Candice, for sure. The original version of the book, she was much more loveable … now she’s just kind of … meh. You know what I mean by ‘meh’, right? She won’t be your favorite, that’s for sure. But, I understand her still.

Which of your characters would you be friends with? 
Mason! I absolutely adore Mason, he’s fun, protective, and has that friend-big brother vibe going.

What's one thing you'd like readers to know about one of your characters that we don't get to see in the book? 
Candice is very misunderstood. People will only see her from Rachel and Kash’s perspective, but when it’s all said and done, try to see the entire thing from her side. She’s unlikeable, but if you try to see it that way, she’s very understandable.

Which character is the most challenging to write? 

Haha, honestly. Rachel. She’s so much like me, that she drove me crazy at times. Just like when you meet someone with the same personality as you, and you butt heads … Rachel and I butted heads quite often.

Thank you Molly for stopping by today! Alright new adult fans, be sure to go add this one to your TBR lists. It's good! Stop back by later today to read my review.

About The Book




FORGIVING LIES:
Logan “Kash” Ryan has spent the last three and a half years working undercover in Tampa Bay, Florida. When a case sends him and his partner to Austin, Texas to follow the trail of a serial killer, their soul focus needs to be on finding the guy before he can find another victim. The last thing Kash needs is the distraction of his beautiful new neighbor, but there’s something about her guarded nature and feisty attitude that makes it impossible to stay away from her.

Rachel Masters has shielded herself from getting hurt again. But when her new neighbor almost takes her door off with his motorcycle, everything changes. He’s arrogant, gorgeous, tattooed and pierced. Everything she knows she should stay away from. Despite the warnings her initial impression has raised, she quickly falls for him and the way he works at breaking down all her walls. But he’s hiding something, and after everything that has happened in Rachel’s life lately, a guy is the last thing she needs. 

From the moment Rachel and Kash meet, they stress the friendship-only rule and continue to push their feelings for each other aside. But as their friendship advances, lines start blurring, and soon their reasons for keeping the other at a distance are forgotten. 

Will Kash be able to maintain focus on the investigation while keeping Rachel safe from his real life - or will it all fall apart right in front of him, and will she run when she finds out everything he has been hiding?

Pick it up from: Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Add it to Goodreads

About Molly McAdams

Molly grew up in California but now lives in the oh-so-amazing state of Texas with her husband and furry four-legged daughter. Some of her hobbies include hiking, snowboarding, traveling and long walks on the beach…which roughly translates to being a homebody with her hubby and dishing out movie quotes. When she’s not diving into the world of her characters, she can be found hiding out in her bedroom surrounded by her laptop, cell, Kindle and fighting over the TV remote. She has a weakness for crude-humored movies, fried pickles and loves curling up in a fluffy comforter during a thunderstorm...or under one in a bathtub if there are tornados. That way she can pretend they aren't really happening.

Find Molly via: Website | BlogTwitter | Facebook | Goodreads

The Giveaway
Thank you to Harper Collins, fans following the blog tour have multiple chances to win one of three prizes! Enter to win below:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Trust In Me by J.Lynn, Blog Tour; Interview & Giveaway

Welcome to the 2nd stop in William Morrow's TRUST IN ME blog tour! You can also check out this stop on Mundie Moms. Today's stop features author J. Lynn and a giveaway. This giveaway runs for ONE HOUR ONLY!! *see details below*

I am thrilled to have Jennifer on the blog today. Y'all know what a huge fan of Jennifer's I am. Both her YA and NA books are some of my favorites. I LOVED Wait for You! You can read my review for it here. I have been anxiously awaiting TRUST IN ME's release, which is Cam's point of view of Wait for You. 

Image Map   

Hi Jennifer! Congratulations on your book release today. You're new adult/ young adult boys are so fabulously written. It's been hard picking a favorite until Cam came along. What's one your favorite character traits about Cam?
He's a nice guy--a genuine nice guy. That is my favorite trait about Cam. Nice guys are rare.

I'm really looking forward to reading the story from Cam's point of view. What was one your favorite scenes to write from his perspective?
Oh, it's hard to pick one, so I had to say the first time they meet. His impression of her and the private nickname he gave her always makes me smile. I also like the scene where he sees her dancing while he's standing with Jase. He says something in that scene that has Jase choking on his beer.

Okay, I have to ask. Cam and that cookie scene. How much was Cam trying to get a rile out of Avery and how much does he really love those cookies?
Cam does love himself some cookies, but I think he was overdoing it a bit. After all, I've never ate a cookie that had me moaning. I think he likes to see Avery blush.

What's something you want to tell fans about Cam that we don't get to see from the book?
 Cam isn't the perfect baker. There are many, many times where he tries his hands a different cookies and it doesn't turn out well. I'd say he's got about a 50/50 chance of producing something edible.

Both Wait for You and Trust in Me have great characters in them. Outside of Cam and Avery, which of their friends did you have the most fun writing?
I think Jase was really fun to write in Trust In Me. Having him interact with Cam was a great way of showing off some of his personality. Jacob would have to be a close second.


**************

I can't wait to read Jase's story! Thank you Jennifer for stopping by Mundie Moms / MM' Guilty Pleasure Book Review blogs today, 

About The Book




It’s Wait for You as you’ve never seen it. Trust in Me lets you in on Cam’s side of the #1 New York Times Bestselling story.

Cameron Hamilton is used to getting what he wants, especially when it comes to women. But when Avery Morgansten comes crashing into his life – literally – he finally meets the one person who can resist his soulful baby blues. But Cam’s not ready to give up. He can’t get the feisty and intriguing girl out of his head.

Avery has secrets, secrets that keep her from admitting the feelings Cam knows she has for him. Will persistence (and some delicious homemade cookies) help him break down her barriers and gain her trust? Or will he be shut out of Avery's life, losing his first real shot at the kind of love that lasts forever?

About J. Lynn


J. Lynn, also known as Jennifer L. Armentrout, is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet. You can find out more about Jennifer by visiting the following websites:



The Giveaway
Want to enter to win a $25 iTunes gift card & a little turtle ring (to symoblize Cam's turtle!).

Just LEAVE A COMMENT BELOW along with your email address to be entered to win!! Fill out the form below for more chances to win.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

There is a sweet giveaway happening with each stop today, BUT there's a catch, each stop is hosting a giveaway that runs for an hour only. You have from 1 EST / 12 CST till 2 EST / 1 CST to leave a comment below, and include your email address. When the hour is up 1 lucky winner will be randomly drawn. Since I'm the second stop on the tour, you have 3 more giveaways to enter! 

Head over to Harlequin Junkie for the next leg of the tour!

Monday, October 21, 2013

CAPTIVE: The Forbidden Side of Nighshade by A.D. Robertson (Andrea Cremer), Book Review


By: A.D. Robertson
Published by: Penguin
Released on: October 22nd, 2013
Source: arc from BEA
5 Stars: I Loved It
Purchase from: Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Add it to Goodreads

The first adult novel set in the world of the New York Timesbestselling Nightshade series, Captive delivers a steamy, forbidden romance between sworn enemies drawn together by an irrepressible desire.

Twenty-five-year-old Tristan Doran enjoys a life of incredible power and privilege. As a direct descendant of the Keepers—witches who have embraced dark magic—he defers to no one but his overlord, Lord Bosque Mar. For most of his life, Tristan has been kept out of the centuries-old Witches War, his bloodline too valuable to risk in battle.

But when a beautiful, young human Searcher named Sarah is captured and made a prisoner in his Irish castle, Tristan’s infatuation with her flings him headlong into the fray. Captive and captor, unable to contain their longing, embark on a passionate, forbidden romance together—only to learn that their love is at the heart of a prophecy predicting the downfall of the Keepers’ ages-old reign.

Captive explores the darker side of the richly imagined Nightshade universe, a fantasy world of powerful dark witches, shape-shifting wolf warriors, and fascinating history. The first of three erotic novels, Captivedelves deeply into the fiery, illicit romance of two young lovers whose very desires invite their doom


A captivating read! Fueled by love, laced with magic, and embedded with danger, CAPTIVE is a spell binding read that will leave paranormal romance fans wanting more.

A.D. Robertson knows how to write fantasy, sizzling character chemistry and create a world just as in enchanting as it is dangerous. Filled with romance, passion, magic and plenty of danger, CAPTIVE  The Forbidden Side of Nightshade gives fans of Andrea Cremer's YA series NIGHTSHADE, and readers new to Robertson's writing something to love. Really fans of adult and paranormal romance are going to love this read.

I have long been a fan of A.D. Robertson's YA series, which is written under Andrea Cremer. Many of the things I loved about her YA books I found present in CAPTIVE, but taken up a few more notches to the adult level. While this book is set in the Nightshade world, it is not for the younger crowd.  It's swoonworthy, sexy, passionate, and hot. From her characters, to her world building, the story arc, the writing, fantasy elements and of course the sexy times, this is one book I could definitely classify as a Mundie Moms guilty pleasure. You don't have to read A.D. Robertson's young adult series to follow along and understand everything that's going on in this book. Robertson does a beautiful job at creating an world that fans of that series will love being back in, and new fans won't get enough of.

CAPTIVE's story is about Sarah, the fearless, intelligent, and tough Searcher who's sent on a quest, which leads her right to Tristan, a Keeper. Or should I say right into his arms.  Okay, if only it were that easy...... The fates definitely had a hand in Sarah becoming Tristan's prisoner. While Sarah is the brave beauty, Tristan is the lone man on the island. This incredibly powerful Keeper has been living alone for the most part on an island, though not by choice. Well he does have a pack of wolves/shifters with him, and a few others who tend to him and the castle in which he lives in. I couldn't help but wonder why after all the times he's dreamt of leaving the island he never did. It should have been impossible for Sarah to enter his land, though as I said, fate had a hand in this, and as the story goes on, readers see just how complex trying to escape the island is. We also learn what has happened to those who tried to set foot on it (shivers).

Sarah stole the show for me in CAPTIVE.  She is the essence of everything I love in a strong female lead. She is incredibly strong, smart, beautiful, embraces her sensuality, isn't afraid to stand her ground, and state her feelings, and thinks things through before she acts. She's also brave. Tristan doesn't quite stand up to her par, though I did like his character. I just didn't feel he had all the strong qualities that she does, but he does have his strengths. Aside for his respect for Sarah, I liked that he listened to her, and he didn't push her. Most importantly there is the scene of their first meeting that made me respect him the most. When you read that scene you'll know what I'm talking about. Now I will say neither of these characters opens right up to each other. They are enemies. If you're read Roberton's YA series you'll know the Searchers and Keepers have a history together, and Captive gives us even more of the history of these two powerful characters. Over a period of time they learn to not only trust each other, but trust their feelings for each other.

Who doesn't love a romance that not only full fills an ancient prophecy, it's centered on two forbidden star crossed lovers? Well we all know what happens when you put two forbidden lovers who's romance has to remain a secret on a page together. More than sparks fly. These two not only have a hot, and I do mean hot chemistry, they have passion and then some. Robertson knows how to write a sizzling character chemistry. It's one of the many things I have loved about your young adult series, but what Sarah and Tristan have is taking to a whole new adult level. Hence this book being a guilty pleasure. This book isn't all about the the hot moments these two characters share together.

CAPTIVE has an incredibly strong story line. There's a lot of history, great side characters that I wanted to get to know a little more, and a fabulous world. Robertson created this captivating world that's both a mix of the old world, and the new. That mix worked perfectly for this book. The fantasy elements, legends, and magic only added to the alluring story. CAPTIVE has it all. This is book I thoroughly enjoyed from the moment I started to the wee hours in the morning when I finished it. I highly recommend picking this book up!

Friday, October 18, 2013

Wicked Heat by Nicola Marsh, Book Review


Published by: Brazen
Released on: 9.2.13
Source: e-arc from publisher to review
Stars: 4 Stars- I Enjoyed It
Purchase from: Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Add it to Goodreads

Competitors by day, lovers by night…
Allegra Wilks has had the worst month of her personal and professional life. To save her company, she must go on her would-be honeymoon and land the luxury eco-island resort’s lucrative advertising account. But when a lingerie mishap leads her into the arms of a wickedly distracting Australian, Allegra’s tempted to skip the trip and explore the most sensual kiss she’s ever experienced. Too bad their chance encounter at the airport is just that. 

Having recently lost his company to his former best friend’s shady business tactics, Jett Alcott is headed to a South Pacific resort to secure an advertising account that will resurrect his reputation and career. Realizing the tantalizing Allegra Wilks is on his flight, Jett envisions a week filled with business and pleasure. But Jett doesn’t know Allegra’s fighting for the same account, or that there’s more at stake than his heart.


I have a Guilty Pleasures weakness, and that's Brazen's line of books. What's not to enjoy about books that have the hot, sizzling character chemistry, snark, and plenty of other things going on. Yes they are sexy times happening in this book, and books that in this line, but I also love that they have character I enjoy reading about, and also have a story line.

Allegra and Jett's first meeting is one no one would forget. It's hilarious. It is the perfect first meeting for the two of them, that leads into some um, high flying hot moments in First Class. Let's just say Jett and Allegra really hit it off.  

Allegra and Jett have some fabulously hot sexual tension, and plenty of character chemistry. Not only can this hot, boy from down under make Allegra weak in the knees with the things he says he wants to do to her, she decides to play the same game. Because what are the odds that the hottie who picked up the trail of lingerie she had no idea she was leaving in the airport was going to be on the same flight as hers. The only bad thing, he knows she's on his flight, and she doesn't. Let's just say flying in First Class was unlike any flying Allegra has done before...... and who knew First Class could be so hot. 

Once on the island things heat up, a lot, and so does trouble. Both characters are competing for the same same account. Here's where things in the story changed for me. I liked how things played out. I loved the Jett put it all on the table and was upfront and honest with Allegra. Allegra up to this point was a fun, sassy character for me, and I loved how she could give it right back to Jett. But, it bothered to know end that she lied. I could list excuses on why, but I won't. Her lying has consequences, as it should have. I just wish she hadn't done that, and stayed as open with Jett as she was with them, given everything else they were doing, I wouldn't have thought it would be hard to talk to him about business. Regardless, I like how everything worked out, and seeing how they two feel in love. 


I can't wait to read more about Jett, and Allegra. I'm looking forward to reading about Allegra's best friend Zoe. This girl is a hoot!  Nicola Marsh's Wicked Heat is a read I enjoyed. She knows how to keep her story hot, fun, and engaging. As I said before, there are plenty of sexy times. Guilty Pleasures readers will enjoy this one. 

Monday, October 14, 2013

CRASH into ME by Tracy Wolff, Book Review



By: Tracy Wolff
Published by: Brazen Books
Released on: October 14th, 2013 TODAY
Source: e-arc from the publisher to review
4 Stars: It Was Sizzling
Purchase from: Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iTunes
Add it to Goodreads

She’s totally off limits, but this rocker wants a taste…


Jamison Matthews has lusted after Ryder Montgomery since she was a preteen. But now that Ryder and her brother’s band, Shaken Dirty, has made it huge, she’s just one of many pining for the brooding lead singer. Too bad Ryder still sees her as a little sister. Not that it matters. Her brother would never allow it, and the last thing Jamison wants is to be another notch on a rock star’s bed post. Even if it’s Ryder’s.

Ryder doesn’t deserve happiness. After his fame destroyed his last girlfriend, he swore he’d never fall in love again. So when Jamison, the girl he’s been in danger of loving for years, joins the band on the road, he’ll do anything to deny the sparks between them—even after one hot night together. But Jamison is determined to show Ryder that he’s worthy of love—her love—and that she’s all grown up…and ready to play.

New Adult fans are going to love the sparks that are happening between bad boy, Ryder Montgomery and Jamison Matthews. What's not to love about a sexy rock star, and the sizzling chemistry he and his band mates not so little sister share? Jamison Matthews has always been the little sister of Ryder Montgomery's fellow band mate. Having had a crush on Ryder since before anyone knew the bad, Jamison's brother would never allow anything more to happen between them, then and now. Ryder and Jamison can't deny the chemistry they have for each other, nor can they deny wanting to do more just be friends. Jamison has always been off limits to Ryder.... until now. Jamison isn't that little sister the band sees her as anymore. Jamison has grown up, and Ryder just met his match.

Crash Into Me has it all. Heartbreak, romance, sexy times, and those trying times that come with being part of a band. Not to mention an over protective group of guys who still view Jamison as the little sitter, though she's far from that now. I have to admit, I love how protective the guys are of Jamison, especially Ryder. When Jamison is attacked by another bands lead singer, oh boy, Ryder doesn't hesitate to give the guy what he deserves. Ryder has had his fair share of heartbreak. Still grieving over the death of his girlfriend, this heartthrob doesn't believe he's allowed to find love or anything good again. Enter Jamison Matthews.

Jamison has been the band's biggest fan since before the band was burning up the chats and hitting the road. Her feelings for Jamison have never changed. Now that she's back on the market, and dealing with a few life changing situations, she can't refuse her brother's offer to have her go on the road with the band, and help them out. The only problem, Ryder. It's going to be a little hard to pretend he's not there when you're stuck together on a tour bus for the next few weeks. Even though Jamison's big brother already threatened them years ago about not getting together, some times you can't tell your heart and your body who to love and not to love. Jamison isn't that little sister who listens to what big brother tells her to do all the time, especially when her heart and her body are leading her to Ryder. Jamison and Ryder definitely get each other, and little by little they break down the walls they both have, though Ryder more so than Jamison.

Oh boy, talk about a guilty pleasure! Crash Into Me is full of hot chemistry, and even hotter scenes between Jamison and Ryder. No matter how hard these two try, they can't deny what they feel for each other, nor will they be able to keep their hands of one another. Holy fireworks batman! These two have some sizzling chemistry and I mean sizzling. I'm not just talking about their sexy times together either. Which I must add are um, hot. Add in the snark that comes along with these two and Crash Into Me becomes that fabulous guilty pleasure you devour in no time.

Even though there are plenty of sexy times in this book, I liked the fact there was more to the story than just that. Outside of Ryder learning to move on and find love again, and Jamison slowly but surely given her heart over to Ryder, Jamison's brother and Ryder's band mates are have stuff they deal with as well. That is what always adds to the heartbreak and the triumphs that happen in this book. I like that Tracy gave me three dimensional characters who all had a purpose for being in this story, and they were all characters I came to care about, all but one of them. They each made choices and some of those choices had consequences they dwelt with individually and some effected band, a lot. 

If you're looking for a new adult guilty pleasure, I'd recommend adding this one to your e-reader. Tracy Wolff gives new adult readers a rock and roll bad boy to fan girl over. Be warned, there are sexy times, language and did I mention hot sexy times? This is definitely not for younger readers.