Friday, February 28, 2014

Take A Chance by Abbi Glines, Blog Tour & Book Review


Hello & Welcome to today's stop for Simon & Schuster's TAKE A CHANCE blog tour! Today's top features my review, and be sure to stop by Simon & Schuster's Take A Chance tour page to enter to win 1 of 5 signed copies of the book & an Abbi Glines tote bag HERE



By: Abbie Glines
Published by: Simon & Schuster
Released on: February 25th, 2014
Source: book from the publisher to review
Purchase from: Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Add it to Goodreads

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Abbi Glines comes the story of Grant, the sexy playboy who first captured readers hearts in Fallen Too Far.

When Harlow Manning's rocker father goes on tour, he sends her to Rosemary Beach, Florida, to live with her half-sister, Nan. The problem: Nan despises her. Harlow has to keep her head down if she wants to get through the next nine months, which seems easy enough. Until gorgeous Grant Carter walks out of Nan's room in nothing but his boxer briefs.

Grant made a huge mistake getting involved with a girl with venom in her veins. He'd known about Nan's reputation, but still he couldn't resist her. Nothing makes him regret the fling more than meeting Harlow, who sends his pulse racing. Yet Harlow wants nothing to do with a guy who could fall for her wicked half-sister—even if there are no strings between Grant and Nan. Grant is desperate to redeem himself in Harlow's eyes, but did he ruin his chances before he even met her?

This is my first Abbie Glines book. I've heard a lot of great things about her books. In fact I've got a few of her books sitting on my shelves waiting to be read. I've heard a lot of great things about her newest release, Take A Chance. When I was asked to be apart of the tour, I jumped at the chance to read Harlow's story.

I liked Harlow. She is one of those sweet, down to earth girls, who just wants to be noticed for who she is, and not who her father is. Given the world her rock and roll of a legend father is apart of, I love that he tried to shield her from it, and that she didn't fall into the partying, doing drugs, and sleep around atmosphere. She had this sweet innocence about her that the rest of those around her no longer had. Harlow is also a girl who while is innocent, also comes across as shy, and an easy push over. The more I read about Harlow, the more I realized she's definitely none of those things. I loved the feisty side of her that ends up coming out. She definitely needs it. She's got people in her life that she could totally do with out.... like her evil half sister Nan, and Grant. While the ending broke my heart for Harlow, I hope this girl gets the guy she really deserves. 

Oh Grant. I really, really wanted to like this guy, but I just couldn't. Sure he has a few moments that seem like he might redeem himself, but I just couldn't get past the part where he takes the innocence of sweet Harlow, which she willing gives him, and then weeks later sleeps with Nan again. Now before you gag on that, they have a history of no strings attached, cheap thrills kind of relationship. Once Harlow was apart of the picture, I couldn't move past THAT. Neither could Harlow for much of the book. That's just the part of. Grant is a man-whore. I'm not a fan of the word whore, but he's one. The fact that he gets around, and then tries to get his protective, "she's mine" attitude to Harlow didn't fly with me. 

I went back and forth with this book. Part of me hard a very hard time connecting with any part of it. At all. Having a connection to the characters and the story is huge for me. I didn't buy into Grant and Harlow's relationship, nor could I deal with the back and forth both of them had. I felt they lacked character chemistry. I know I might be in the minority when I say this. I didn't feel that sizzle I like to read about when two characters have a physical attraction to each other, and clearly they did. 

While I had a hard time with Harlow and Grant's relationship, which made up a huge chunk of this book, there were parts of this story I really enjoyed. I love Rush and Blaire. I totally want to go pick up their series, now that I've read Take A Chance, as I didn't read it before reading this book. I didn't feel like I needed to, as Glines does a great job at explaining to the reader the history and the relationship that Rush, and Blaire have with Grant, and how Harlow's family intertwines with their families. I loved Rush and Blaire's relationship. Even though I don't know them well, I could tell these two characters had a real relationship, and connection with each other. I love how Rush says it how it is with Grant. He's not afraid to call Grant out on his crap. Too bad Grant didn't take more advice from Rush. 

Another character I loved was Mase, Harlow's brother. He was every bit the big ole' Texas size protective big brother I had excepted him to be. I love the relationship he has with Harlow. He saw things in black and white, and said things as he saw them. He's someone I hope gets his own story at some point. The other part of this story that I liked was seeing this other side to Harlow's dad. I won't give anything away, but seeing this side of him was heartbreaking, and so sweet all at the same time. While this book lacked in connection for me, it made up with some depth, a lot of great family ties/bonds that Harlow's father's band members and their families have, and gave me secondary characters I totally loved. 

Be sure to go to Simon & Schuster's Take A Chance tour page HERE to follow the rest of the tour stops & to enter to win!!

Monday, February 24, 2014

TEASE by Sophie Jordan, Cover Reveal

I'm so thrilled to be apart of today's cover reveal for Sophie Jordan's TEASE, book #2 in her The Ivy Chronicles series. I loved book #1 in this series, Foreplay, which was released this past year. Check out the cover to TEASE, which hits shelves on May 27th, 2014!!

Image Map

HELLO sexy cover!  It's the perfect match to Foreplay's cover. I can't wait to read about Emerson & Ethan. Judging from the cover, I'm going to guess that these two will  ignite the pages with their hot chemistry. Really, I wouldn't excerpt anything less than some good ole, Sophie Jordan sizzling character chemistry from this book. 

About the Book

What happens when a girl who always call the shots meets a guy who's too wild even for her?

A born flirt and good-time party girl, Emerson has never had a problem finding a willing guy. She’s always chosen her hook-ups carefully, and she’s never broken her three cardinal rules:

Never let them see the real you.
Never fall in love.
Always leave them begging for more.

Then comes Shaw. A hottie from the wrong side of the tracks, he’s immune to her flirtatious banter and come-hither smile. After rescuing her from a disastrous night at a biker bar, he doesn’t even try to take her to bed—he calls her a tease and sends her home instead. Unable to resist a challenge, or forget the sexy dark-eyed bad-boy biker, she vows to bring him to his knees.

But instead of making Shaw beg, she finds herself craving him. For the first time in her life, she’s throwing out her rulebook. Suddenly, she’s the one panting for a guy she can’t control. A guy who won’t settle for anything less than the real Emerson, who forces her to do things she’s never imagined, including facing a past she thought she’d buried.

Tease sounds like the perfect kind of Mundie Moms guilty pleasures read. I'm a huge fan of Sophie Jordan's. I love the way she writes her characters and their chemistry. This is one guilty pleasures read I can't wait to get my hands on.

Wednesday, February 19, 2014

My Sweetest Escape by Chelsea M. Cameron, Blog Tour: Playlist & Giveaway


Welcome to today's MY SWEETEST ESCAPE blog tour post. I'm so thrilled to be apart of today's feature & have Chelsea on the blog today to share part three of her official My Sweetest Escape playlist.

My Sweetest Escape Official Playlist (part three)

I Can’t Wait-Runner Runner



When I was writing this particular scene (which I won’t talk about in detail to avoid spoilers), I looked for the perfect song for a LONG time. Eventually, I just started searching videos on YouTube. I’d listen to a song that I liked, click on the songs that were similar and so on until I discovered something I’d never heard before. This was one of those songs, and it actually inspired this scene to happen. I didn’t plan it when I imagined the book, but I think fans are going to be very happy with it.

Chapel Of Love-The Dixie Cups


I’m not going to go into why I chose this song because of spoilers, but let’s just say that the lyrics are self-explanatory ;)

Walking On Sunshine-KC and the Sunshine Band



This is one of those happy cheesy songs that’s perfect for an acapella group to sing and maybe mock a little bit. I couldn’t resist using it.

Creep-(Radiohead) Covered by Ingrid Michaelson



This song. THIS SONG. It’s one of those that when it comes on, I have to stop what I’m doing to listen. I adore the original Radiohead version, but Ingrid’s voice just takes it to a whole other level. This is one of the most important songs in the book for Jos and Dusty.

(You Gotta) Fight for Your Right (To Party)-Beastie Boys


This song came out of nowhere. I knew what kind of music Jos listened to, but Dusty was a little more tricky. Since he works in a music store, I knew his tastes would be varied and eclectic, and this song is proof of that.


Soul Meets Body-Deathcab for Cutie



I love the darkness of Deathcab’s music. It’s sad and heartwrenching, but somehow makes you feel better about life when you listen to it. Jos is in a dark place, and this type of music is perfect for her.

*************


ABOUT THE BOOK
By: Chelsea M. Cameron
Published by: Harlequin HQN
Released on: January 28th, 2014
New Adult Contemporary Romance

BOOK SUMMARY: 
The past will always find you.

Jos Archer was the girl with the perfect life; until the night it all came crashing down around her. Now, nine months later, she still hasn't begun to pick up the pieces. Even transferring to a new college and living under the watchful eye of her older sister, Renee, isn't enough to help her feel normal again.


And then she meets Dusty Sharp. For reasons Jos can't begin to fathom, the newly reformed campus bad boy seems determined to draw her out of her shell. And if she's not careful, his knowing green eyes and wicked smile will make her feel things she's no longer sure she deserves.


But even as Dusty coaxes Jos to open up about the past, he's hiding secrets of his own. Secrets about the night her old life fell apart. When the truth is finally revealed, will it bring them closer together;or tear them apart for good?


BOOK BUY LINKS: 


AUTHOR BIO:
Chelsea M. Cameron is a YA/NA New York Times/USA Today Best Selling author from Maine. Lover of things random and ridiculous, Jane Austen/Charlotte and Emily Bronte Fangirl, red velvet cake enthusiast, obsessive tea drinker, vegetarian, former cheerleader and world's worst video gamer. When not writing, she enjoys watching infomercials, singing in the car and tweeting (this one time, she was tweeted by Neil Gaiman). She has a degree in journalism from the University of Maine, Orono that she promptly abandoned to write about the people in her own head. More often than not, these people turn out to be just as weird as she is.

Her New Adult Contemporary Romance titles include MyFavorite Mistake, which has been bought by Harlequin along with a sequel, Deeper We Fall and Faster We Burn (April 20, 2013)


Her Young Adult books include Nocturnal, Nightmare and Neither, the first three books in The Noctalis Chronicles. The fourth and final book, Neverend will be out in 2013. Whisper, the first in The Whisper Trilogy is also available, with the second book in the series, Silence and the final book, LIsten coming out in 2014.


AUTHOR LINKS: 

GIVEAWAY: 
10 winners will receive a signed set of MY SWEETEST ESCAPE and MY FAVORITE MISTAKE. 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, February 18, 2014

RUINED by Tracy Wolff, Book Review


By: Tracy Wolff
Published by: Loveswept
Released on: 1.7.14
Series: Ethan Frost
Ratings: 5 Sizzling Stars
Source: e-arc from publisher to review
Purchase it from: Amazon | Barnes and NobleiTunes
Add it to Goodreads

He’s the last man Chloe Girard should love . . . but the first she ever could.

Ethan Frost is a visionary, a genius, every woman’s deepest, darkest fantasy—even mine. And, somehow, I am his.

He stole into my life like a dream. Turned my reality upside down and made my every desire come true—especially those I never knew I had. He demanded everything I had to give and gave me everything of himself in return.

But dreams don’t last forever, and ours is no exception. Because my nightmares are darker, and my wounds deeper, than I could ever reveal. And as much as Ethan wants to protect me, the secrets we we share will only tear us apart.


Two words, ETHAN FROST! I don't even know what else to say. This guy was just..... WOW. Between the wow, and that cliff hanger, I still.... I can't even figure out what to say about this book. Tracy Wolff definitely pulls out all the stops with this book. Between the hotness, the shocking twists, and that killer cliff hanger, I need book two like now. 

Ethan and Chloe have an explosive chemistry. It's hot. From the moment these two met, which I absolutely loved, I knew these two were were in trouble. I mean that in a good way. These two have some seriously awesome back and forth bantering. At times it was down right hilarious. I loved that Chloe holds her own, and isn't afraid to dish it back to Ethan. My favorite moment between these two was their first meeting. Little does the fiery mouthed Chloe realize that the man she's dealing with behind the counter is the president of the new company she's interning for. Things definitely get complicated between these two.

Chloe is a character who has a broken past, and that's part of what drives her to be the successful, and lands her in the position she has now. Chloe is a driven who's worked to hard to get where she's at, and the last thing she needs is the complications of a relationship. Ethan Frost on the other hand, can't get Chloe out of his head. There's nothing that will stop him from getting her. Chloe for me was a character I went back and forth on. I loved her sassiness, and her ability to dish it right back to Ethan. She tries to resist him, but that's a little hard when this man wants her, and knows just how to get her. No matter how hard Chloe tries to resist Ethan, there's no deterring a determined man who knows what he wants, and that's Chloe. My biggest issue with Chloe was inability to trust Ethan. Even after all they do, and talk about, she falls in love with him. She gives him all of her, and yet she doesn't trust him, and that really bothered me. 

Ethan Frost. He is just WOW. I don't even know what else to say about him. His actions, his looks, and his touches with Chloe could literally ignite a fire. This man is on a mission. He knows what he wants, and that's Chloe. He'll stop at nothing till her gets her. Luckily Ethan is a very patient man. Chloe is someone who doesn't fall easily for wooing. Once he starts to break down her walls, and she starts to slowing open to him, there's no stopping the sparks that fly between the two. Ethan makes is hard for Chloe to form a coherent thought when he has her in his arms, and in his bed. I loved his not taking no for answer from Chloe. He saw right through her walls, and her reasoning for saying no. It was impossible for me to not fall for him.

Talk about the feelings. This book made me feel every single broken emotion these two had. Both characters have complicated, and broken pasts. Part of what makes these two work together is their ability to break down the barriers they've so carefully crafted. It's painful when the layers start to unravel, but at the same time it brings these two closer together. They fight for each other, and want to protect one another. Sometimes that isn't even enough. 

Tracy does a fabulous job at drawing the reader into her story emotionally. Every little moment, and emotion was explored, and explained. She gave me these incredible moments between Ethan and Chloe vs telling me about what was happening between them. I love it when an author does that. She doesn't rush anything. The sexy times are hot, the emotional times are heart wrenching, and the banter between Chloe and Ethan is hilarious. This book definitely has it all! It's become my favorite of Tracy's new adult / adult books. 

Just as things are heating up, and pasts things are being revealed, Tracy Wolff drops the biggest cliff hanger ever! Gah, she literally shocked me with that killer of a cliff hanger. I swear I'm ruined now, and I need book two asap so I can pull myself together. Seriously. If you're looking for a hot read, with a sweet romance, twists, and is an all around awesome read, definitely pick up RUINED. 

Monday, February 17, 2014

Conning For Keeps by Seleste Delaney, Book Review

By: Seleste Delaney
Published by: Entangled / Flaunt
Released on: 2.3.14
Series: Agents of Trait #2
Rating: 4 Steamy Stars
Source: e-arc from publisher to review
Purchase from: Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Add it to Goodreads

Lovers undercover…Secret Agent Marissa Jones has a gift. A con artist to the core, after deep hypnosis she can turn into someone else entirely. Marisa’s gift has gotten her into hot water over the years, but now more so than ever. With her smoking hot partner by her side, she needs to convince him that not only is she her true self, but also that she can be trusted—even in spite of her past.

…or traitors to the cause?Trevor Harris has his own issues with the mission, he’s got revenge to seek, a cursed painting to secure, and Marissa’s sugary-sweet alter-ego to ignore. But when he releases Marisa from her mental cage and things get a little too hot, he ends up finding out what falling for a con artist really means—bigger trouble than ever before.


This book is sizzling! 

What happens when you take under cover agents, a con artist, a mock wedding, and hot sexual tension? A steamy read that will have you wanting to read more about Trevor and Marissa. 

For years now Marissa and Trevor have been partners. Their sexual tension building, but never something they've given into. Given their past histories, it's easy to understand why neither crossed that line. When they're partnered up to get a famous painting back from a gangster, it should be easy for these two to work together. Except they get to pose as an engaged couple. If that wasn't hard enough, they're to get married as part of the group wedding they're posed to be apart of. When you're getting married, there's no way out of sharing a hotel room..... for a week.

That wouldn't be a bad thing, except things don't go quite as planned. Being an ex-conartist puts Marissa at an advantage in this mission. But there's a catch. Marissa is always hypnotized and transformed into a completely different person when it comes to their missions. Of course there are failsafes and all Trevor has to do is a say the key phrase, and it breaks Marissa out of it. When things start to get too hot, Trevor puts his feelings before the mission and now things aren't going quite as planned. 

For Trevor, despite his rugged edges, he's not taking things to the next level with a women who's not totally herself. He wants Marissa. Not Marissa being someone else, but the real Marissa. For Marissa, there's denying she's wanted Trevor or awhile now. Both Trevor and Marissa have to deal with both their mission and their pasts in order to get what is right in front of them. The past has a funny way of sneaking up on both of them during this mission. Between that, and the sparks that are flying between they two, there's no getting out of this situation without lines being crossed. It's beyond pointless for either of them to fight the attraction, and the pent up sexual tension that has built up between the two of them for years now. Let's just say things go from hot to down right sizzling in no time. 

Seleste has created such an unique setting and situation between both of these characters. I loved the danger, the twists, and the sexy times she created in her story. Between the action, sparks flying, and the trouble that arises, there was never a dull moment in this book. Though this is the second book in the TRAIT series, I felt that this book did a great job as a stand alone. I haven't read the first book, but I understood enough of the things that were mentioned in the book, to know what happens in book one. Given that this particular focuses on secondary characters from the first book, I didn't feel lost in what was happening nor did I feel I needed to read book one before reading this one. 

This is a guilty pleasure read I enjoyed reading. 

Friday, February 14, 2014

BEST KIND OF BROKEN by Chelsea Fine, Spotlight & Pre-Order Info!

Chelsea Fine fans are going to love today's spotlight! Why? Because when you pre-order her upcoming release, BE KIND OF BROKEN, you can receive a deleted scene from the book! Find out more below. 


BEST KIND OF BROKEN by Chelsea Fine (March 4, 2014; Forever E-Book; $4.99)
SOMETIMES MOVING ON MEANS MOVING IN

Pixie Marshall wishes every day she could turn back time and fix the past. But she can't. And the damage is done. She's hoping that a summer of free room and board working with her aunt at the Willow Inn will help her forget. Except there's a problem: the resident handyman is none other than Levi Andrews. The handsome quarterback was once her friend-and maybe more-until everything changed in a life-shattering instant. She was hoping to avoid him, possibly forever. Now he's right down the hall and stirring up feelings Pixie thought she'd long buried . . .

Levi can't believe he's living with the one person who holds all his painful memories. More than anything he wants to make things right, but a simple "sorry" won't suffice-not when the tragedy that scarred them was his fault. Levi knows Pixie's better off without him, but every part of him screams to touch her, protect her, wrap her in his arms, and kiss away the pain. Yet even though she's so close, Pixie's heart seems more unreachable than ever. Seeing those stunning green eyes again has made one thing perfectly clear-he can't live without her.

** When you pre-order BEST KIND OF BROKEN, be sure to submit this form to receive a special deleted scene from the book on March 4

About Chelsea Fine:
Chelsea lives in Phoenix, Arizona, where she spends most of her time writing stories, painting murals, and avoiding housework at all costs. She's ridiculously bad at doing dishes and claims to be allergic to laundry. Her obsessions include: superheroes, coffee, sleeping-in, and crazy socks. She lives with her husband and two children, who graciously tolerate her inability to resist teenage drama on TV and her complete 
lack of skill in the kitchen. 

Social Media Links:

Buy Links:

Thursday, February 13, 2014

ALL LINED UP by Cora Carmack, COVER REVEAL

I'm extremely excited to bring you the cover for ALL LINED UP, the first book in Cora Carmack's highly anticipated Rusk University Series! ALL LINED UP is a New Adult Contemporary Romance novel published by William Morrow (an imprint of HarperCollins). It is due to be released on May 13, 2014! Check out this cover!!!


ABOUT ALL LINED UP:

In Texas, two things are cherished above all else—football and gossip. My life has always been ruled by both.

Dallas Cole loathes football. That's what happens when you spend your whole childhood coming in second to a sport. College is her time to step out of the bleachers, and put the playing field (and the players) in her past.

But life doesn't always go as planned. As if going to the same college as her football star ex wasn’t bad enough, her father, a Texas high school coaching phenom, has decided to make the jump to college ball… as the new head coach at Rusk University. Dallas finds herself in the shadows of her father and football all over again.

Carson McClain is determined to go from second-string quarterback to the starting line-up. He needs the scholarship and the future that football provides. But when a beautiful redhead literally falls into his life, his focus is more than tested. It's obliterated.

Dallas doesn't know Carson is on the team. Carson doesn't know that Dallas is his new coach's daughter.

And neither of them knows how to walk away from the attraction they feel.

Praise for Cora Carmack:
“Laughter + heartache + hot sexual tension = the perfect Cora Carmack book.”
—Monica Murphy

Pre-Order Links: Amazon Barnes & Noble iTunes  
Add it to Goodreads 


 

About Cora Carmack

Headshot

 Cora Carmack is a twenty-something writer who likes to write about twenty-something characters. She's done a multitude of things in her life-- boring jobs (like working retail), Fun jobs (like working in a theatre), stressful jobs (like teaching), and dream jobs (like writing). She enjoys placing her characters in the most awkward situations possible, and then trying to help them get a boyfriend out of it. Awkward people need love, too. Her first book, LOSING IT, was a New York Times and USA Today bestseller. 


Wednesday, February 12, 2014

Easy by Tammara Webber, Book Review

This is a book review that was originally published here on Mundie Moms when the book first came out, back when new adult was something brand new, and I hadn't yet started this site. 


By: Tammara Webber
Published by: Penguin
To Be Released on: November 6th, 2012
Source: Book from publisher to review
5 stars: Loved It!
Purchase from: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Rescued by a stranger.
Haunted by a secret
Sometimes, love isn’t easy…

He watched her, but never knew her. Until thanks to a chance encounter, he became her savior…

The attraction between them was undeniable. Yet the past he’d worked so hard to overcome, and the future she’d put so much faith in, threatened to tear them apart.

Only together could they fight the pain and guilt, face the truth—and find the unexpected power of love.

(Mature Young Adult/ New Adult -quoted from Goodreads


Now I understand what all the hype over this book has been about. Wow, what a read. Easy, which was previously self published by the author, Tammara Webber, is being released TOMORROW by Penguin! You can read Sophie's review for it here. I am so glad a publishing house like Penguin picked this book up! It's one of those well written books that incorporates a lot of realistic elements into it's story and tackles the tougher subjects, like rape, flawlessly. With beautiful written, broken, strong characters, Easy is what's called a New Adult book that fits in between the YA and Adult category perfectly. While I admire Tammara's ability to shed light on something that our society still has issues talking about, I know this won't be a book for everyone, but it's one I'd recommend to a lot of people, especially to older high school readers and college students.

Date Rape and rape in general is a hard subject to write about, let alone read about, but it's one I feel needs to be read. Reportedly a rape occurs every 2 mins in the US, and 42% of rape victims NEVER tell anyone. This statistic breaks my heart. The story's main character Jacqueline is a victim of an attempted rape, and while I at first was so mad at her for not reporting this attack when it first happened, I quickly sympathized with her and understood her fear, and her wanting to just move along and get on with her life, even though after that attack it changed her, and the way she did things. Honestly, who wouldn't be changed after that. What I didn't except to find myself doing was going through all of her emotions after it. I got her pain, her fear, her hurt, and her determination to not let this thing own her. For me Jacqueline quickly went from being a fictional character to being a face of people I know who have experienced similar attacks as hers. She become real, and her story did as well. 

I loved Tammara's secondary characters as much as I loved Jacqueline. These characters made this story real. They gave voices to the various sides of rape, and the myths that our society still has about it. They made Jacqueline not feel alone. They gave her the aid she needed in finding her voice, they helped her learn to defend herself, and made her realize she was a victim! That it wasn't her fault. Others fell into the norm... they took sides, they didn't believe the hot guy on campus could do something like this, and then there are the ones who talked about rape, and what rape really is. I felt like Tammara did an amazing job at the way she handled rape and the situations that presented themselves after the first attack. She made this story about surviving.

Mixed into this story is a very complex, sensual relationship between the hot bad boy, Lucas and Jacqueline. Can Lucas be any more well written!? Seriously, he broke my heart and had me swooning for him all at the same time! I wish I could talk about all the things I loved about him and the relationship that develops with Jacqueline, but I can't without giving away spoilers. The pacing with their relationship, and really the entire storyline was spot on. I will say, this is a story for mature readers. There are a variety of mature subject matters addressed in this book, and mixed into that is the underlining theme of hope, surviving, and falling in love. 

Here are some statistics about RAPE according to AAUW / RAINN:
  • EVERY 2 mins in the US a sexually assault happens
  • - 80% are under the age of 30
  • - 95% of attacks are unreported
  • - 3% of college women nationally have experience rape or attempted rape during their academic year
  • - 90% of rape victims know their attacker
  • - 42% of women we are raped tell NO ONE
  • - 5% of rape incidents are reported to the police, 10 times more rapes are reported to crisis lines than to the police.
  • - 80% of women who are raped try to physically resist
  • - 43% of college aged men conceded to using coercive behavior to have sex (ignoring the women's protests) and don't admit it was rape.
  • - 80% of rape victims suffer chronic physical or psychological problems over time.
  • - 13 times as many rape survivors are more likely to attempt suicide, than those ware not victims of crime. 
If you or someone you know has been a victim or rape or an attempted rape, you ARE NOT ALONE! You can call 911, RAINN (1-800-656-HOPE).

Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Deceiving Lies by Molly McAdams, Excerpt


Is it March 4th yet? That's when Molly McAdams DECEIVING LIES hits bookstores. I for one am anxiously awaiting this book to be in my hands. I NEED to know what happens with Kash & Rachel. Like really, really bad. 

In celebration of Molly's upcoming release, William Morrow has given me an excerpt to share with you guys! Not only that, they want to know what you think will happen to Kash & Rachel! Feel free to leave a comment here and comment via Twitter using either the #KashandRachel or #DeceivingLies & tag @MollySMcAdams in your reply. 

Read the excerpt below & then find out how you can receive a special bonus Kash & Rachel scene when you preorder Deceiving Lies!




The irresistible, blazing-hot sequel to New York Times bestselling author Molly McAdams's Forgiving Lies Rachel is supposed to be planning her wedding to Kash, the love of her life. After the crazy year they've had, she's ready to settle down and live a completely normal life. Well, as normal as it can be. But there's something else waiting—something threatening to tear them apart.

Kash is ready for it all with Rachel, especially if "all" includes having a football team of babies with his future wife. In his line of work, Kash knows how short life can be and doesn't want to waste another minute of their life together. But now his past as an undercover narcotics agent has come back to haunt him . . . and it's the girl he loves who's caught in the middle.

Trent Cruz's orders are clear: take the girl. But there's something about this girl that has him changing the rules and playing a dangerous game to keep her safe. When his time as Rachel's protector runs out, Trent will turn his back on the only life he's known—and risk everything if it means getting her out alive.

*SPOILER ALERT*
*Don’t read this if you haven’t finished
Forgiving Lies yet*




“YOU GOOD?” I asked Mason as we headed back toward the elevators.

He shrugged and punched at the buttons on the wall. “There’s only so much you can do to get them to go in a different direction. He wanted to follow his brother.”

The call from last night ended up being a drive-by involving a newer gang that we’d come across recently, and one of the two victims had been L’il Tay, a thirteen-year-old Mason had been trying to get off the streets over the last few months. And though Mason was acting like this was just another case, I knew this was harder for him than the rest.

Knowing there was nothing I could say, I clapped his shoulder and let him be alone with his thoughts. Grabbing my phone, I smiled when I was finally able to open Rachel’s text from last night.

Sour Patch: Just so you know ... cleaning up from a whipped cream war without you isn’t nearly as fun. See you when you get home. Love you.

We just finished up, be home soon babe. Love you too.

The doors to the elevator opened and we stepped in. As they were closing, someone started yelling my name from down the hall, and Mason caught the door just in time.

“Ryan! Gates!” Sergeant Ramirez ran toward us, and as soon as he was in the elevator started pounding on the CLOSE DOORS button.

I suppressed a groan. All I wanted to do was get home to Rachel and Trip.

“We already have three units at the scene, and I’ll be following you there.”

Ramirez was a K-9 unit, why were they wanting his dog, Crush, there ... and what scene? 

“Wha—”

“I know you’re anxious to get there, but you know we’re doing everything we can for this.”

 The elevator was already moving, but Ramirez kept stabbing at the ground level button. 

“How are you holding up? You look really calm, are you in shock? Maybe you should let Gates drive.”

That seemed to snap Mason out of his thoughts. His hand jerked away from his mouth and his eyes widened. 

“Why would I need to drive?”

“And why would I be in shock?” My heart started racing as Ramirez started hitting the OPEN DOORS button.
Ramirez shot us a strained, sympathetic look before ushering us out to the underground parking lot. “You weren’t informed?”

“Of what?” I was supposed to be the one in shock. So it had something to do with me. Everyone close to me starting flipping through my mind until a sinking feeling hit my chest and stomach. Oh God ... Rachel. “What happened?”

“I’m sorry, I thought someone already told you, you were supposed to be informed already,” he mumbled to himself as he kept walking toward the lot. “Look, I’m sorry I’m the one that has to tell you this.” He stopped walking abruptly and turned to look at me. His expression was one I had seen so many times, and had even had to use myself. It felt like time slowed as I waited for him to tell me one of fifty scenarios that were speeding through my mind. 

“A call
came in to dispatch about an hour ago. It was your fiancĂ©e, Ryan. The only thing that came from her end of the call was her saying her name, someone had broken in—”

I didn’t wait to hear the rest, I took off running for my truck and had just gotten to the driver’s door when Mason slammed me into the side and ripped the keys from my hand. After barking at me to get in the passenger seat, he fired up the engine and peeled out of the lot.

“This isn’t happening. This isn’t happening, Mase, tell me this isn’t fucking happening!”

“Kash—”

“Damn it!” I roared and punched at the dashboard. “I don’t even know if she’s okay, Mason! What was Ramirez saying, did he say if she’s okay? Is she—oh God. Rach, baby, please be alive,” I whispered and slumped into my seat, raking my hands over my face.

I heard Mason on the phone calling into dispatch and asking questions about what happened, but I couldn’t focus on his exact words or the muffled response coming from the dispatcher. I just kept praying over and over again that she was okay. I could deal with our place being broken into. I could replace all that. But I couldn’t replace Rachel.

Mason nudged my arm and I snapped my head to the left to look at him. “Sorry, you weren’t responding. They don’t know if she’s alive, but there’s no blood. So just focus on that, Kash.”

“W-what? No ... what do you mean?”

He took a deep breath and gripped the steering wheel. “From what units at the scene—uh, your place—are saying, whoever broke in ... they uh, they took Rachel.”

Mason was saying something else, but I couldn’t hear anything past the blood rushing through my ears. When we got to the house, the front door was hanging like it had been kicked in, but the rest of the front looked completely normal. Save for the dozens of officers and detectives that were walking in and out of it. Remembering the faux-wall in the closet, I prayed like hell that Rachel was using it and took off for the large closet in the bathroom.

When I flipped on the light in the closet, dread filled me when I saw the drag marks on the carpet. I called one of the officers that had been taking pictures of the bedroom to get a few pictures of the carpet before I walked in, and all hope left me when all I found behind that wall was our puppy. I grabbed him and pulled him into my chest as I fell back against the wall, and the tears that had been threatening, started spilling over.

“Kash, you need to see this,” Mason said softly from the doorway to the closet. I looked over at him, rolled to my knees and stood. “Give me Trip. Go into the bedroom and look at the wall. We’ll find her, okay? I swear to you we’ll find her.”

I handed him the golden retriever and rushed into the bedroom that looked like a hurricane had hit it. My eyes widened when they finally landed on the wall opposite our bed. A roar filled the room, and before I could realize it came from me, two officers were holding me back and trying to get me to sit down on the bed.

On the wall in red spray paint were the words DID YOU THINK WE WOULD FORGET? Underneath was a symbol. One both Mason and I’d had tattooed on our left forearms during our last undercover narcotics assignment with Juarez’s gang.

“How?” Mason was asking a detective that was in the room with us. And that was a damn good question. Juarez had put a hit on Mase and me before we could take down his gang, but it
had died when the guys hired were thrown in prison for another murder. And I knew for a fact Juarez and his boys were all in prison. “Recruiting people from the inside who got out? Or just using people he trusts? Set up questioning with each of them separately.”

I looked up when Detective Byson’s cell rang. His mouth snapped shut from answering Mason and he answered the call. “Byson.” His eyes shot over to me and a grim look crossed his face as he listened. “Mmhm ... Yeah. Set up something with Juarez and his attorney immediately. I’m on my way.” He turned to face me and slid his phone back in the holder on his belt. “Rachel is alive.”

“Thank God,” I breathed and tried to stand, but the officers were still holding me there.

“A call was placed about fifteen minutes ago, demanding that every charge against Juarez’s gang be dropped. Before the dispatcher could ask anything, the caller said they would call back in two days and expected progress on the charges being dropped, and would continue to call every two days until every member of the gang was released. If there isn’t progress, there will be consequences, and if they aren’t released within the month ... she dies.”

“Kash, Kash, Kash calm down. Come on, man. Calm down. I know.”

Mason gripped my shoulders and I tried to focus on him. The other two officers were now struggling to keep me down as I thrashed against them. Where I was going to go when I got away from them, I didn’t know, I just needed to go. They had my girl. I needed to find out who they were, and I needed to get her back.

“I know this is hard. But we’ll find her. I swear.” Mason looked just as panicked as I felt, and it was then I noticed the wetness in his eyes he was trying to keep back.

When I finally stopped struggling, the officers let me go at Mason’s request, but he kept me seated on the bed. “I need to get her back, Mason. I have to.”

“We will.”

“I’ll do anything.”

A determined look settled over his face and he whispered low enough that only I could hear him. “Anything to bring the fuckers down, right?”

I slammed my fist against his and swore, “Always.”

**

I WALKED INTO Mason’s apartment that evening with a bag slung over one shoulder, and Trip in my arms. Our bedroom was still being considered a crime scene, and I was asked to stay out of it for the night as they processed more and continued to take fingerprints. Not that I thought I would be able to stay there even after they were done anyway, without Rachel ... I didn’t know how I would handle being there.

After dropping the bag in the room I’d occupied for years when Mason and I’d shared an apartment, I fell heavily onto the bed and kept Trip secured tightly to my chest as I stared at nothing.

A fear unlike anything I’d ever known had coursed through my body the moment I’d realized Rachel was at a murderer’s home last fall, and that I’d let her walk away with him. When the call between us had been dropped after I’d heard her scream, I hadn’t even let myself believe I wouldn’t find her and bring her back alive.

But the fear I’d experienced that early morning could never be compared to the fear that had been crippling me all day. At least when she was with Blake, I’d had an underlying knowledge of what Blake was capable of. Now, though, I didn’t know who had her, what they were doing to her, and what they could do. I just knew what they’d threatened to do.

For close to ten hours, a handful of detectives had questioned every member of Juarez’s gang, the two men hired to kill Mason and me last year, and family members as well. No one was talking, and the only living extended family of Juarez and his boys that we could track down had either turned their backs on the members of the gang, or were afraid of them. I hadn’t been allowed in any of the interviews since I was too close to the case—again—so I’d spent hours seeing if anyone on the street had heard anything, and looking for Rachel’s cell phone which we’d later found ten miles away from the house in a trash can at a gas station. A gas station whose indoor and outdoor cameras just happened to be down.
There’d been nothing to go off from the anonymous call placed regarding their demands and threats for Rachel’s safety, and although they said they’d call back every two days, I’d hoped like hell they would’ve called back again. But there was nothing. We had leads that weren’t talking, and didn’t have a reason to talk, and nothing else.

And my girl was gone.

Pain seared my chest and I prayed to God that He would keep her safe. He could do whatever He wanted with me ... as long as she came back alive.

There was a shuffling near the other side of the room, and I looked over to see Mason standing in the doorway.

“How are you holding up?”

I sucked hard on my lip ring when my chin started shaking, and looked back to the wall.
How the hell does he think I’m holding up? Rachel’s gone and probably being tortured, and I can’t do anything!

“We’ll find her, Kash.”

Unable to speak yet without breaking down, I nodded my head hard, once. We have to find her, and we have to do it tomorrow. I didn’t care if they’d given her a month to live or not. They also said there would be consequences if there wasn’t progress in two days, and I wasn’t willing to let her find out what those consequences were. Seeing how the possibility of giving the takers what they wanted was slim, finding her was the only other option.

“I love her too, I’ll do anything to get her back.”

“Do you mean that?” I choked out when he turned to leave. 


He turned back and gave me an odd look. “Of course I do.” 

“They aren’t going to release Juarez.”

“I know,” he said on a sigh.

“Chief told me tonight before I left that I was off this case.” 


“Know that too. What are you getting at, Kash?”

I swallowed past the tightness in my throat and shook my head quickly. “We had to do a lot of things in the years that we were in undercover narcotics that I wish I could erase from my
memory. But you and I agreed before we ever started, we would do anything to take the fuckers down.”

“Kash...”

“And I’ll do anything—anything, Mase—to bring these fuckers down too.”

He stared at me for a few tense moments before responding, “I know what we agreed on, and we’ll do what we always do. But don’t do something stupid. There are a lot of people looking for her. We’ll find her.”

Fear was quickly turning to rage and determination. “Yeah, we will.”


Pre-order Deceiving Lies and receive a bonus Kash and Rachel scene! Just enter or upload your proof of purchase here and your bonus

scene will be emailed to you on March 4th.
Deceiving Lies will be available March 4th in e-book and paperback wherever books are sold! 

Harper Collins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | IndieBound | iTunes