Wednesday, March 26, 2014

Sharing You by Molly McAdams, Cover Reveal


Just in case you happened to miss Molly McAdams live chat with Between The Covers today, where they talked about all things awesome with Molly, and she revealed the cover to her upcoming book, SHARING YOU, I've got it here for you! Thank you to William Morrow, I get to share the cover with you!

Check it out!

Image Map

What do you guys think? I'm totally intrigued in finding out who these characters are. How the heck are two of them handcuffed together, and what's the story with girl who's in the arms of the guy on the cover. I can't wait to read this one!

Chat With Molly McAdams LIVE Today at 3 pm EST


Molly McAdams, I've got some exciting news to share with you! TODAY at 3 pm EST, Molly McAdams is chatting LIVE with her publishing house, William Morrow over on the Between The Cover Facebook page. They'll be discussing the awesomeness of Molly's latest move, DECEIVING LIES. Be sure to join them as they talk about all things Kash, Rachel and Trent! Be sure to stay for the entire chat, as at the end, Molly has a special treat for her fans. She'll be revealing the cover of SHARING YOU!!! Join the chat HERE.

Monday, March 24, 2014

Covet Release Day Blast

Welcome to today's book blast, featuring Covert's sexy new releases. 


Covets have all the sexiness, emotion, and happily ever after that readers have come to expect and love from Entangled. They are firmly grounded in the contemporary world, but each novel brings in supernatural twists, breaking the contemporary and paranormal rules, alike. To find out more about their titles, chat with authors, participate in special events, and to find out what books you’ll be coveting next, visit the Entangled website, follow them on Twitter, LIKE their Facebook page, and join the Book Club.

Today I'm happy to be featuring Covet's March releases:



Sex and the Single Vamp by Robin Covington

Special $0.99 Introductory Price!


Cici Trent, vampire and media darling, spends her days finding true love for humans and supernaturals (the “Others”) at her dating agency. But someone is trying to sabotage her business and she needs help. Unfortunately, the best man for the job is the one who broke her still-beating heart two hundred fifty-four years ago.


Deacon is a patient vampire. He’s only loved one woman in over three hundred years— CiCi— and she chose another. So when she shows up in his office asking for help, he finally has the chance to lay that demon to rest. He’ll help her, but for a price—a night in his bed.


Adrenaline, mischief, and a little late-night B&E light the passion that even a couple of lifetimes couldn’t put out. But Deacon has a secret and when Cici is suddenly mortal, his deception might be the only way restore her immortality. Can love bridge the gap between a heartbeat and forever?




Love and Other Cosmic Nonsense by A.D. Marrow

Special $0.99 Introductory Price!

Breaking it off with her long-time non-magical boyfriend, Evan, was for his own good. At least that’s what Maggie Owen tells herself. After all, a witch and a human can have no future together. Her vision told her so. But now it seems the universe is exacting revenge for upsetting the balance of what “should be” and her heart is telling her she was wrong.

Evan Jackson can’t believe his bad luck. It’s been a year since Maggie broke his heart, and now his business partner has hired her as their new receptionist. Fine, they need the help. But no way will he let her get close again. He can’t take another heartbreak from the woman he still dreams about, even if it feels like there’s still a magical pull between them.

Being in the same building with Evan is a start, but it’s going to take more than Maggie’s special talents and a wink to get the hard-hearted bad-boy to see that love is really more than just cosmic nonsense and set the universe back into balance.


Also don't miss:


January's releases, Love At Stake and Haunt Me, are on sale for only for a limited time only! If you missed out before, now's your chance to snap them up at just $0.99 each!

(Click on the covers to grab the limited time deals)




a Rafflecopter giveaway a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, March 22, 2014

Austin Book Festival Is TODAY!



Hi New Adult and Adult book fans! Check out what's happening in Austin today from 12-4! 
It's the Austin Book Festival! Come & meet some of your favorite NA and A authors, get your books signed, and hang out with fellow book lovers. Find out more about today's festival HERE.

Thursday, March 20, 2014

Rock It by Jennifer Chance; Blog Tour: Excerpt & Giveaway

For gals who love bad boys and musicians, Jennifer Chance brings ROCK IT,
the first novel in Rule Breakers, a sizzling New Adult series published by Random House’s LoveSwept imprint.


Welcome to today's stop for Random House's LoveSwept blog tour for Jennifer Chance's Rock It! I'm thrilled to be share with you an excerpt from the book! But first, here's a little about the book.


About ROCK IT


Jennifer Chance unleashes her hot new series with the tale of a smoldering rock star and the fangirl who catches his eye—and finds herself living out her wildest dreams.
 
Lacey Dawes is a total pro at the talent agency where she works, and it doesn’t hurt that IMO Worldwide Media represents Dante Falcone. The rock god has starred in her fantasies since she was sixteen—and remains her secret crush to this day. So when Dante picks her to be the interim manager on his Dream It tour, Lacey can’t believe her luck. Handling Dante is sure to be the most exquisite, spine-tingling, nerve-wracking mix of business and pleasure 
ever.
 
Although Dante is grateful for the adoring fans who scream for one more of his full-throttle, soul-searing songs, being surrounded by a cadre of corporate types backstage is wearing thin. Then Lacey shows up. Yeah, she’s organized, smart, quick to get him what he wants before he knows he wants it—but Dante senses there’s something else going on with sweet, sexy Lacey. One kiss tells him what that “something” might be . . . and makes him hungry for more.

On Sale: March 04, 2014

Available for pre-order at:
 Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Books-A-Million |BooksOnBoard |eBooks.com |Google Play |Diesel eBook Store |iBooks |Kobo |Powells |Sony


Read An Excerpt
Dante Falcone, Rock God (Excerpt 1)
Dante Falcone was clad in head-to-toe black leather that hugged and cupped and stretched over his body as intimately as a second skin. His jacket was ripped open, his gleaming chest showing one of the reasons why he was so popular in a multimedia world—Dante wasn’t just an amazing singer, he had the body of a male model, his face and physique apparently undamaged from eight hard years of living on the road. As Lacey fought to keep her footing despite the mass of bodies behind her, pushing her ever closer to the stage, she drank in the sight of him. He was all dark eyes and beautiful mouth, his heavenly voice now practically screaming into his mike as his eyes roamed the stadium, drinking in the adulation like a king. Or a god. Or an angel.
He was worth every penny anyone ever paid him, she thought fleetingly, just as one particularly shrill voice screeched in her ear, “Dante, I love you!”
Then Lacey felt a brutal push against her hip. She stumbled forward, crushed up against the stage for a moment until she straightened, desperately trying to regain her footing even as fans surged over and around her, spilling onto the stage.
The horde pulsed as the security guards finally moved into action, and Lacey’s hands balled hard into fists as another frantic girl tried to climb up to the stage by way of Lacey’s back. Someone was going to die if this kept up, but just as her eyes swept the stage, she saw Dante Falcone staring down at her. And only at her.
And it totally wasn’t a daydream this time.
He really was looking at her. The pressure of his gaze seemed to clear a space around her . . . Well, that and the security guard, who’d finally made his way across the floor, opening a path as the crowd fell back.
“You okay?” the burly man shouted as he stopped in front of her.
“I’m fine—thank you!” Lacey’s words were automatic, her gaze still fixed on Dante. He moved in perfect rhythm with the music as he watched her, smiling between the words of the song, letting her know that he’d seen her distress and had somehow come to her aid.
Lacey shook her head, hard, to clear it. Dante couldn’t have any idea who she was—much less care—but he was staring at her as if it was she who had captured his attention, she who held his world. A distant, vague part of her mind registered the beefy security guy at her side, knew that she had just been written into the night’s act as the fans screamed their approval and her face flashed all over the Jumbotrons. But none of that mattered, not right then.
With one soft smile, Dante Falcone had made her feel wonderfully, sweetly, hopelessly sixteen, all over again.
Lacey shook her head, hard, to clear it. Dante couldn’t have any idea who she was—much less care—but he was staring at her as if it was she who had captured his attention, she who held his world. A distant, vague part of her mind registered the beefy security guy at her side, knew that she had just been written into the night’s act as the fans screamed their approval and her face flashed all over the Jumbotrons. But none of that mattered, not right then.
With one soft smile, Dante Falcone had made her feel wonderfully, sweetly, hopelessly sixteen, all over again.

Want to learn more about ROCK IT? Be sure to check out this exclusive interview with Jennifer Chance!

About Jennifer Chance


I come by romance honestly, having spent several years writing adult romance and entering romance contests through Romance Writers of America–including finaling twice in the prestigious Golden Heart contest and winning oChance. But despite these and other contest wins, my first published novel came not in adult romance, but as a writer of YA historical fiction (you can read all about my Elizabethan spy girls stories, the Maids of Honor, here.)

Still, despite my love of Elizabethan spies, I could never quite give up those super Alpha contemporary romance heroes. So, in the summer of 2013, I decided to see if perhaps I might still have a romance or two up my sleeve.

I wrote a tale about a girl whose biggest high-school and college crush–a rock star–suddenly becomes her biggest client, only now she has to be professional and not betray the fact that she’s completely in love with the guy. It was a fun, sexy, romantic fantasy, and I suggested the idea to my agent… who asked what other ideas I had in addition to this story. Shortly after, the Rule Breakers series was born.

To separate these books from my historical work, I adopted the name Jennifer Chance. I am now pursuing my dreams (pretty much round the clock as it turns out) and am THRILLED to be able to have four e-books coming out in 2014 and early 2015, all with Random House LoveSwept’s New Adult romance line.

As to what will happen from here, who knows? But as long as there is a story to be written and an HEA to be had, I’ll be the one over in the corner, tapping away on my keyboard.

Connect with Jennifer at her Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads
The Giveaway
An iPod Shuffle (open to US entrants only, if international entrant is chosen they'll receive a $50 gift card to the eTailer of their choice). Additionally, Random House is sponsoring the tour with a $50 e-giftcard, and swag including a Loveswept mug and tote (open to US entrants only).

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the tour and win some more awesome prizes!

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Boomerang by Noelle August, Cover Love

I'm not apart of today's official cover reveal for Noelle August (which is the writing team of Veronica Rossi and Lorin Oberweger), but I adore Veronica, and I'm so thrilled these two have a new adult book coming out soon. I had to share this fun loving cover. 


Welcome to BOOMERANG, the hottest startup in the coolest city: Los Angeles, CA. Why? Because it’s about no-strings, no-fuss relationships for those on the rebound and those who crave connection without all the baggage of long-term promises. While it’s THE dating site for the millennial gen, their offices are even steamier than the hook-ups the website produces. 

But that buzz is fading as Boomerang struggles to grow, the solution? Find two brilliant interns and give them a crack at turning this ship back to shore. 


Enter MIA GALLIANO and ETHAN VANCE. These young strangers—Mia an aspiring filmmaker, and Ethan at the end of a collegiate sports career—are both bright and motivated. And for very different reasons, although they’re both hungry and way up for the challenge. 


But things go wrong from day one. For one thing, Ethan and Mia aren’t strangers. The night before their stint at Boomerang begins, Ethan and Mia meet at a bar and fall into bed together. Or so they think. They’re both hazy on the details. They just know it’s aaaawkward when they share a post hookup taxi…to the same place. 


Will the competition get to them, or do they have a future together? 



Be sure to add this to your Goodreads TBR lists. 

Love's Paradox by Laura Kreitzer, Cover Reveal

Love's Paradox is the first book in a New Adult Contemporary Romance series by Laura Kreitzer to be released May 5, 2014. And today I'm revealing the cover! But first, a little bit about the book:

About The Book
 Stalked by her abusive ex-fiancĂ©, Rae Zachery retaliates by singing karaoke and spilling all their dirty secrets to the entire bar. When her ex attempts to silence her brazen performance, sexy biker Parker comes to her rescue and soundly punches her ex in the face. As valiant as that may be, Rae finds Parker’s violent assistance unsettling, yet she can’t help but be drawn to him and his tragic past. Fighting her attraction for Parker is a battle Rae can’t win, and soon their night of sharing secrets morphs into an undeniable bond. But fate won’t so easily relinquish her grip on their happily-ever-after. Instead of blissfully skipping into obscurity, Rae and Parker are subjected to her ex-fiancĂ©’s vicious proclivities. Who knew love could hurt so good?

Read the first 5 chapters for free by clicking here.

Love's Paradox

Don't forget to add Love's Paradox to Goodreads!

If you're a reviewer, check out Love's Paradox on NetGalley!

laurakreitzer
Laura Kreitzer is a best-selling fantasy and science fiction author who hails from western Kentucky. Represented by Pam van Hylckama Vlieg, partner at Foreword Literary. Laura's full-time 9-5 job used to be working in a lab devoted to water dye-tracing investigations at Western Kentucky University, though her passion was always writing. After seven years of dedicating her life to the environment, she made the tough decision to leave the university to pursue her writing career. Now Laura has several novels published, with several more in the works.

You can find her online here:

Friday, March 14, 2014

Rome (Marked Men #3) by Jay Crownover, Book Review



Published by: William Morrow
Released on: January 7th, 2014
Series: Marked Men #3
Source: book from publisher to review
Rating: 4.5 stars
Purchase it From: Amazon | B&N
Add it to Goodreads

Cora Lewis is a whole lot of fun, and she knows how to keep her tattooed bad boy friends in line. But all that flash and sass hide the fact that she’s never gotten over the way her first love broke her heart. Now she has a plan to make sure that never happens again: She’s only going to fall in love with someone perfect. 

Rome Archer is as far from perfect as a man can be. He’s stubborn and rigid, he’s bossy and has come back from his final tour of duty fundamentally broken. Rome’s used to filling a role: big brother, doting son, super soldier; and now none of these fit anymore. Now he’s just a man trying to figure out what to do with the rest of his life while keeping the demons of war and loss at bay. He would have been glad to suffer it alone, until Cora comes sweeping into his life and becomes the only color on his bleak horizon. 

Perfect isn’t in the cards for these two, but imperfect might just last forever . . .

Hello Rome! I love it when an author does something in their book / series that I was not excepting. Jay Crownover does just that with Rome's story. Wow, I was not excepting that turn in the story. I mean that in an oh so fabulous way. 

First off, Cora is probably my favorite girl out of the series so far. She's a tiny spitfire of a girl. She has to be, given she works with the guys at the tattoo shop. Someone has to keep the guys in line. Which if you've read the previous two books, you know that's far from easy. Not only is she sassy, and totally awesome, she holds her own, is totally real and upfront, down to earth, and says things the way they should be said. She's honest. One of the things I most admired about her, is her loyalty to all the characters in the series. She has these guys backs no matter what. She first encounter with "Captain No Fun" aka Rome, had me laughing. Yeah, love her nic-name for Rome as well. Like each of the characters in this series, Cora has a flaw that I think many of us can relate to. 

Cora's had her heartbroken, and in a bad way. From that, she's decided she's not settling for anyone but "Mr. Perfect". Not that I can blame her. Luckily she's got some good friends who worry about her, and want her to realize that in holding out for Mr Perfect, she may end up missing out on a good thing. That good thing is Captain No Fun himself. I loved Rome in Rule, but Rome in this book is someone who comes back very haunted, and broken from the events of war. I swear I didn't think I could love him any more. Dealing with his own demons changes Rome. He's not the same Rome we met in Rule, and that is both heartbreaking, and something I'm glad Crownover did with Rome. No one comes back the same from War. Though it broke my heart to see Rome's change, it felt more realistic in reading his story, seeing those changes. Not only that, these changes play a huge part in the growth Rome makes in this book.

Rome, like Cora is extremely loyal to his family and friends. He's always been the protector, and the one to make sure everyone was okay. It was interesting in seeing the dynamic change from Rome going to protector, to someone who still protects those he loves, but he's also someone he needed protecting, but of a different kind. Cora and Rome seem like the perfect opposites attract couple, but they have more in common that loyalty to those they love. 

Rome and Cora both have a lot they're trying to cope with individually. Together these two have something special, each other. I know that sounds cheesy, but it's true. These two are there for each other like no one else can be. Luckily with the two of them, what you see is what you get. There's no sugar coating things when it comes to Cora and Rome. Though they can both be intense at times, Rome more so that Cora, they do have their moments that made me laugh, especially when it came to their nick names for one another. Captain No Fun for Rome, and Half Pint for Cora. Cora and her fun loving ways, compliments Rome, and his more no nonsense ways. They balance each other perfectly. I loved that they never tried to change each other, but instead embraced their differences, and supported one another.

Rome and Cora have a sizzling chemistry! I LOVED that these two are responsible adults. Everything that gets thrown their way they think through, even if one of them over thinks things. I admire the two of them for not just jumping into things head first. It's nice to see characters work things out. At first they may have had different goals in life, but when something changes those goals, together they make it work. The other things I loved with this story is seeing more of Rule and Shaw, and the rest of the characters. Seeing Rule and Rome, and their parents work things out was so great to see. 

Here's the thing like about this series, the characters. The girls are just as bad a as the guys are. Each of the characters has their flaws, and things they have to work through. I love seeing how these characters grow and change. No matter what, each of the characters in the series is always there for each other. I also love seeing all the characters's stories continue with each book in the series. I adore Rule, but Rome takes the cake for me. I have a feeling that Nash, the next Marked Men book, will end up being my favorite. I can not wait to find out what transpires after the end of Rome, with Nash. 

Check out my reviews for Rule, Marked Men #1 & Jet-Marked Men #2 .
Say HELLO to Nash!


Thursday, March 13, 2014

Marine For Hire by Tawna Fenske


By: Tawne Fenske
Published by: Brazen (Entangled)
Released on: 3/3/14
Series: Front & Center #1
Source: e-book from publisher to review
Rating: 3 Stars - It Was A Good Read
Purchase from: Amazon | B&N
Add it to Goodreads

She thought she’d sworn off military men for good…
Sam Kercher is every inch a wickedly hot Marine. Tall. Sexy. Lethal. When his best friends call in a favor, Sam is forced to face an entirely new line of duty—playing nanny for their newly divorced sister and her squirming seven-month-old twin boys. If Sam can dissemble an M16 in his sleep, diaper duty should be a cakewalk…right?
Unfortunately, Operation Nanny isn’t quite that simple. Sheridan has sworn off overbearing military men, so Sam must protect her from her dirtbag ex without revealing just how much he has in common with her brothers. Or that he’s been ordered not to touch her. Ever. Problem is, Sheri’s one hell of a gorgeous woman, capable of making this hard-bodied Marine even harder. And Sam wants herbad.
Protect the girl. Care for the babies. Hide his identity. And keep his hands off. But even the most disciplined Marine has weaknesses…and Sheridan is one Sam might not be able to resist.

I'm a huge Brazen fan. I've enjoyed many of the books they've published, so when given the chance to review this one, I jumped at the chance. There's just something about a big ole' hunky marine playing a manny that I couldn't resist reading. While I enjoyed reading about this Marine change diapers, and take care of twin babies, there was something that I felt was missing from this story. I liked reading about Sam and Sheri, and getting to know them more. I loved the fact that Sam was hired on by Sheri's over protective brother to play manny, and watch over both Sheri and her twin boys.

Sheri is a great character. She's still trying to figure out the ropes of being a first time mom, as well as dealing with her recent divorce. I totally understood her insecurities with being a first time mom. I liked that while she had them, she didn't dwell on them too much, and when she did, Sam put her in her place in a way only someone who cared for you could, by telling her to stop worrying. Sheri is a take no crap women, and I admired her for her strength, and honesty. I loved her security in who she is now. She mentions in the book that she knows she's not back to her normally weight yet, but having just had babies she embraces her looks now, and she also embraces her sexuality. She's definitely a take charge women both within her every day responsibilities, and when it comes to her and Sam. I liked that she went against the norm that I've read about all too often in adult books, where the women follows the lead of the man. In this case, Sam could take charge, but he often follows Sheri's lead.

Being a marine, Sam is used to discipline, though Sheri is one temptation he won't be able to resist, even if her brother told him hands off his sister. I liked that Sheri and Sam didn't hold back on their attraction to each other. They share a few pretty steamy scenes together. I have to give mad props to Sam for being straight up with Mac, Sheri's brother, and letting him know his feelings for her. For his part, I loved the Mac was protective of his sister, though she does prove she can handle her own. There is something that comes up with Sam, and though I'm glad the issue is resolved, because from the get go, we know why Sam can't be upfront with Sheri about the matter, the resolution happened a little too smoothly for me. I don't what it is about reading / seeing a guy take care of a baby that's hot, but it is. Sam is definitely one manny who knows how to take care of the babies, and his women.

Normally when I read a Brazen title there some key things that I've come to except in their books, and usually get- and that's some sizzling chemistry, and a little bit of angst. Something always hinders a relationship in these titles, and the characters always have to work through it. While the chemistry was evident with Sam and Sheri, I felt that I was told more about it, vs having it ignite the pages of the book. I also missed that little bit of angst in Sam and Sheri's relationship. I know that sounds lame as I write this. Sometimes it's nice having things just work out, but in this case I needed a little something more. Given that lying is set to be a huge turn off for Sheri, which I'm glad it was, it didn't have more of a consequence as I would have thought it would. Also, having Sheri's ex be this crazy, unstable marine, who literally should have been a guy that would have made my skin crawl, he didn't feel that way to me. Yes he does some stupid, crazy, insane things that cross that line in a huge way, and I'm glad Sam was there for her, and her brother Mac, but I ended a little something more to really feel that danger that he was.

Over all this was a good read, but I needed to feel more of the emotions I was reading about, in order to really enjoy the book as much as I wanted to. I'm looking forward to reading the next book in this series.


Wednesday, March 12, 2014

NASH by Jay Crownover, Waiting On Wednesday



By: Jay Crownover
Published by: William Morrow
To Be Released on: April 29th, 2014
Series: Marked Men #4
Pre-Order from: Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Add it to Goodreads

Will their past determine their future?

Saint Ford has worked hard to achieve her childhood dream of becoming of nurse. Focused on her work and devoted to her patients, there’s no room for love. She doesn’t need a guy making waves in her calm, serene life—especially when he’s the unforgettable hottie who nearly destroyed her in high school. Dark, brooding Nash Donovan might not remember her or the terrible pain he caused. But he turned her world upside down . . . and now he’s trying to do it again.

Saint has no idea that Nash isn’t the cocky player he once was. Uncovering a devastating family secret has rocked his world, and now he’s struggling to figure out his future. He can’t be distracted by the pretty nurse he seems to meet everywhere. Still, he can’t ignore the sparks that fly between them —or how she seems so desperate to get away from him. But the funny, sweet, and drop-dead gorgeous Saint is far too amazing to give up on—especially since she’s the only thing in his life that seems to make sense.

When Nash discovers the truth about their past, he realizes he may have lost her heart before he could even fight for it. Now, Saint has to decide: is Nash worth risking herself for all over again?


I can not wait for Nash! I love this series. I have a feeling that Nash is going to become my favorite Marked Men book. Also, I love this cover! I can't wait to get to know Nash.

Tuesday, March 11, 2014

Jet (Marked Men #2) by Jay Crownover, Book Review


By: Jay Crownover
Published by: William Morrow
Released on: November 19th, 2013
Series: Marked Men Series #2
Rating: 4 Stars
Source: arc from publisher to review
Purchase from: Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Add it to Goodreads

With his tight leather pants and a sharp edge that makes him dangerous, Jet Keller is every girl’s rock and roll fantasy. But Ayden Cross is done walking on the wild side with bad boys. She doesn’t want to give in to the heat she sees in Jet’s dark, haunted eyes. She’s afraid of getting burned from the sparks of their spontaneous combustion, even as his touch sets her on fire.

Jet can’t resist the Southern Belle with mile-long legs in cowboy boots who defies his every expectation. Yet the closer he feels to Ayden, the less he seems to know her. While he’s tempted to get under her skin and undo her in every way, he knows firsthand what happens to two people with very different ideas about relationships.

Will the blaze burn into an enduring love. . . or will it consume their dreams and turn them to ashes?


Like Rule and Shaw, Jet and Ayden have a relationship that is complex, steamy, and heart wrenching. But like Rule and Shaw, once these two are committed each other, there is no turning back. Trust me, the chemistry between these two that was building up in the previous book, doesn't have anything to the chemistry that ignites the pages in this book. One of the things that I have come to admire about Jay's writing style, is just how realistic she not only makes her characters, but their relationships. The characters make choices that aren't always what I want them to make, and their relationships aren't always perfect, which who's is, but that's what I love about them. Each book in this series makes me feel as though I'm getting a glimpse into people who are real, and not just alive on the pages of this book.

What I loved about this book is Shaw's best friend, Ayden. This girl someone I totally related to on some levels, and completely admired on many other levels. There's a lot readers don't know about Ayden's past, until now.  Leaving behind her troubled past wasn't, easy, but no matter how strong she's become, and how much she's turned her life around, some of her past demons come sneaking back into her life. I wasn't so much worried about Ayden falling back into her old way of life, as much as I was worried about how her past would effect her future. Luckily this girl has a good, strong head on her shoulders, and a good man in her life that she'll be able to deal with all that comes her way. There's a moment in the story that really got me, and that's when she's talking about the Ayden of her past and who she is today.

"There was Ayden Cross, nobody, from Woodward, Kentucky, and Ayden Cross, chemistry major, from Denver, Colorado. There were two parts of the whole and at times I thought one was going to smother the other, and there would be nothing left but ash and bad memories."

Ayden is the kind of girl who rises above what people except of her, and proves to them she can do better than what anyone things she can, even herself. She has drive, but she also has something else that I related to, and admired. That's the power of leaving the past in the past, and learning from it, and moving on. It was so easy to cheer for Ayden throughout this story. Then there's Jet. Someone, who much like Ayden, has his own personal demons from his past to deal with, both then and now. Just as much as Ayden needs Jet, Jet needs her. These two weren't perfect, but together they were perfect for each other. They gave each other exactly what they needed.

While I liked Ayden and Jet's story, I didn't love it as much as I loved the previous book, but this book was still good. Jet's story adds a lot to the over all series, as we get to see plenty of interaction with the rest of the characters that I've come to love in this series, including Shaw and Rule, Cora and Rome (who's story I loved reading), and the rest of the guys.

Read my review for RULE here.

Monday, March 10, 2014

You Don't Have to Say You Love Me by Sarra Manning, Book Review




By: Sarra Manning
Published by: CB Creative Books
Released on: 8/7/2013
Source: Purchased
Rating: 5 Stars - a brilliantly plotted romance
amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | goodreads

Sweet, bookish Neve Slater always plays by the rules. And the number one rule is that good-natured fat girls like her don't get guys like gorgeous, handsome William, heir to Neve's heart since university. But William's been in LA for three years, and Neve's been slimming down and re-inventing herself so that when he returns, he'll fall head over heels in love with the new, improved her.

So she's not that interested in other men. Until her sister Celia points out that if Neve wants William to think she's an experienced love-goddess and not the fumbling, awkward girl he left behind, then she'd better get some, well, experience.


What Neve needs is someone to show her the ropes, someone like Celia's colleague Max. Wicked, shallow, sexy Max. And since he's such a man-slut, and so not Neve's type, she certainly won't fall for him. Because William is the man for her... right?


Somewhere between losing weight and losing her inhibitions, Neve's lost her heart - but to who?



Sweet, awkward, determined-to-keep-losing-weight Neve is easily one of my favorite romance characters ever. Yup, EVER. Reviewers use words like "relatable", and DearEverything, is Neve ever relatable. I completely understood her desire to re-make herself for her college crush's return home. So as you can imagine, I fell in love with the concept of a "pancake relationship" (based on the fact that the first pancake is never perfect so you tend to throw it away).

Max could not be a more perfect pancake partner -- as he himself says it, (paraphrased) he's done everything you can imagine and probably twice.  But trust me on this, when Max and Neve are together, their chemistry simply explodes off the page. And that, for me, makes for the best kind of storytelling.

Sarra has surprised me twice with the depth of her characters in deliciously plotted romances (my review of her YA story, Adorkable). There is so much more to both Max, and especially to Neve, than first meets the eye, and I enjoyed every reveal along the way. In fact, I enjoyed it so much that I kept pestering Katie with texts and quotes from the story. Yes, I'm THAT pesky friend.

This is the perfect book to throw in your bag now that the weather is warming up and a lot of us are heading out to enjoy the great outdoors (oh, I know you guys are like me and always have a book nearby). But, here's a quick warning: you will have a desperate need to find out what happens next and if it ends the way you want it to end. Trust me on this -- desperate. So watch that clock carefully, you will lose track of time with this story.

Red Rising by Pierce Brown, Book Review



Published by: Del Ray (Random House)
Released on: 1/28/14
Series: Red Rising #1
Source: Book from publisher to review
Rating: 4 Stars
Purchase from: Amazon | Barnes &  Noble
Add it to Goodreads

The war begins...

Darrow is a Helldiver, one of a thousand men and women who live in the vast caves beneath the surface of Mars. Generations of Helldivers have spent their lives toiling to mine the precious elements that will allow the planet to be terraformed. Just knowing that one day people will be able to walk the surface of the planet is enough to justify their sacrifice. The Earth is dying, and Darrow and his people are the only hope humanity has left.

Until the day Darrow learns that it is all a lie. Mars is habitable - and indeed has been inhabited for generations by a class of people calling themselves the Golds. The Golds regard Darrow and his fellows as slave labour, to be exploited and worked to death without a second thought.

With the help of a mysterious group of rebels, Darrow disguises himself as a Gold and infiltrates their command school, intent on taking down his oppressors from the inside.

But the command school is a battlefield. And Darrow isn't the only student with an agenda...


A thrilling read, Red Rising is a book fans of dystopians, and science fiction will enjoy. Set on Mars, this book has an unique storyline that's complex, and twisted. Similar to it's story, the world building is richly detailed, incredibly brutal, and unlike anything I've read about before. In a world where your eye color determines your place in society, the story's main character, Darrow, is at the bottom of the class. Being a Red, he lives in the caves beneath the the surface of Mars. Those of other eye colors, Pink and Gold, live else where, and have set job's within society. Gold are at top. With the Reds, doing as they're always told to do, Darrow never questions the laws of his society, until tragedy strikes him, and he's forced to look beyond the caves, and see what's really going on in the world around him.

 I really admired the way Brown made me see Darrow. There were times I sympathized with him, other times I wondered when he was going to become the hero he's made out to be, and then there were times I literally felt sorry for him. Brown writes Darrow in such a way that he literally goes on this character journey, and in the process he transforms and changes so many times through out the story. His tragedies change him, as they should. His choices make him stronger physically, and mentally, but emotionally there's so much he's had to endure and deal with, that I understood what he was going through to a certain degree. I also like that with the emotional changes Darrow goes through, Brown used that to allow me to see that underneath the ruthlessness and all he deals with, that's the part of Darrow that stays human the most. It's interesting to see all the changes one character goes through. Darrow literally goes through hell, and back more than once. His transformation from Red into becoming a Gold was brutal, but it was worse reading about what he actually has to do in order to try and win this game. 

This story line gets complex and is full of details, and key players. At times it was hard to keep up with everything that was thrown at me within the story line, but in stead of finding myself bored, and putting the book aside, I was intrigued. There were times I literally had to stop, re-read what I just read, and think about it for a minute. Sure, there are times I was a little confused about all the information that I was reading about, but once I got through all that everything made sense, or at least for the time being. There are many twists, and turns that keep this plot line action packed, and intriguing. This book has a surprisingly large cast of characters who's motives, and alliances are constantly changing. Normally a group of characters this large doesn't always work in a book this size, but how ever is not this case for Red Rising. All of the characters in this book have a purpose for being in the story. 

The things I at first viewed as right or wrong, Brown quickly made me realize that there is not always a right and wrong when it comes to some of the characters. Don't get me wrong, there is a lot of wrong, and the story gets brutal with the violence, but it's also a game about survival, and out smarting those you're competing against, and trying to over throw. Some of the characters saw things very differently, and made choices based on survival. I liked that Brown stripped away my own way of thinking, and make me get into the mind set of what would I do? After reading this book, I'm not so sure I would have been able to endure all Darrow and the characters do. When it comes to playing this game, set up by a society that is governed by a ruthless law & order, strategy is the key to winning. Only the toughest mentally, physically, and emotionally will survive. Only the strongest will be apart of the rebellion that's already forming.

Red Rising is unlike anything I've ever read before. It's in a league all it's own, as it's unique and complex story line is one that quickly changes from one extreme to the next. It's a story that's complex, full of secrets, and twists that constantly change the course of what's going to happen next. The detailed writing, and intense world building only add to the feeling of the over all story. Red Rising is a deadly game where more than brute strength and survival skills are needed to be crowned the winner in this book. An addictive, and an intense read that lures you in, Red Rising is a dystopian that definitely lives up to it's hype. I'm looking forward to seeing what's in store for Darrow in Brown's sequel. 

* Red Rising is an adult book with a teenage main character. It's a book who's world is incredibly brutal, ruthless, and violent, a book I'd recommend to those 18 years & older. 

Thursday, March 6, 2014

Craving Him by Kendall Ryan, Cover Reveal


Hello & Welcome to today's cover reveal for Kendall Ryan's CRAVING HIM! This is the second book in Kendall's Love By Design series
Check out this hot cover:



Be honest, if you saw this book sitting on the book store shelf, you'd totally pick it up wouldn't you?! I would. Even though I've not yet read book one in the series, which by the way I hear is a great guilty pleasures read. 

ABOUT THE BOOK
In Working It, New York Times bestselling author Kendall Ryan delivered a sexy and addictive contemporary romance about Emmy Clarke, a sweet southern girl out of her depth in New York City’s cutthroat fashion industry, and Ben Shaw, the hot male model who introduced her to a world of pleasureBut their story is far from complete…

Emmy Clarke is no quitter. Toughened by her experience working for fashion heavyweight Fiona Stone, Emmy has come a long way from her country girl roots, embracing her fast-paced and unpredictable life in New York City.

Though that life comes with more than a few complications.

First there’s the mystery of Fiona’s pregnancy, which may or may not involve Emmy’s boyfriend, superstar male model Ben Shaw. Emmy has always known that Ben comes with more baggage than she can handle—and not the Louis Vuitton kind. Yet Ben is the only man who has ever loved Emmy for who she is, and she wants nothing more than to do the same for him, even if it means forgiving his past and overlooking their wildly different lifestyles.

But when a shocking secret from Ben’s past comes to light, unraveling all of their progress, Emmy must decide if their relationship is worth the fight, or if it’s time to ignore her passion for him and let go.



CRAVING HIM  links

Book Details
E-book edition on sale March 24, 2014 | Atria Books | 288 pages | ISBN 9781476756547 | eBook ISBN: 9781476764634
Tradepaper on sale June 17, 2014 | Atria Books | 352 pages | ISBN 9781476756547 | ISBN: 9781476764627

I'm looking forward to reading this series. Right now WORKING IT is currently available for $3.99, and you can pre-order CRAVING HIM for $3.99 from any of the links listed above. 

Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Jane's Harmony by Ryan Winfield, Cover Reveal & Press Announcment

Check it out! Today Atria Books (a division of Simon & Schuster), revealed the cover to Ryan Winfield's Jane's Harmony! Check out the cover below!


What do you think? I'm liking this cover. Be sure to head over to Atria Books to read the official press lease, and find out more about Jane's story. 

About the Book
Jane's Harmony: A Novel
Available Everywhere August 5th

Starting over is hard to do.
 
That’s what forty-year-old Jane McKinney learns when she quits her job, sells her home, and leaves Seattle behind to start a new life and pursue the man she loves in Austin. After the death of her daughter, Melody, Jane never thought she would find happiness again – until she met Caleb Cummings. Sensitive, loving, and mature beyond his years, Caleb is a handsome young musician struggling to make ends meet. But when his fortunes take an unexpected and drastic turn for the better, Jane is left wondering where exactly she fits in.
 
Can you ever leave the past behind? Jane must now decide if she really is willing to commit to a new beginning with Caleb – or if some wounds are just too deep to ever truly mend.



Pre-Order the book from:


US Pre-Order Links:

UK Pre-Order Links:

Australia Pre-Order Links: