Tuesday, September 30, 2014

AS LONG AS YOU LOVE ME by Ann Aguirre, Release Day Launch

ALAYLM RDL banner  

We are absolutely ecstatic to bring you the Release Day Launch for Ann Aguirre's AS LONG AS YOU LOVE ME! AS LONG AS YOU LOVE ME is the second novel in Ann's New Adult Contemporary Romance 2B Trilogy Series, published by Harlequin HQN! If you haven't already read I WANT IT THAT WAY buy it NOW. We can't wait for you all to read it so you can dish with us about it!

As Long As You Love Me

Amazon | B&N | BAM | IndieBound | Vroman’s | Book Depository | Powell’s| iTunes

AS LONG AS YOU LOVE ME Synopsis
Most people dream about getting out of Sharon, Nebraska, but after three years away, Lauren Barrett is coming home. There are the justifications she gives to everyone else—missing her family, losing her college scholarship. And then there’s the reason Lauren can’t admit to anyone: Rob Conrad, her best friend’s older brother. Football prowess and jaw-dropping good looks made Rob a star in high school. Out in the real world, his job and his relationships are going nowhere. He can’t pinpoint exactly what’s missing until Lauren comes back to town, bringing old feelings and new dreams with her. But he’s the guy that women love and leave—not the one who makes them think of forever. Though she’s terrified of opening up, Lauren’s ready to take that chance. Because the only thing more important than figuring out where you truly belong is finding the person you were meant to be with.

ALAYLM Teaser 2


Read an EXCERPT
Mom was asleep, so I checked my email. I had the usual spam, plus notes from all my former roomies, which made me happy. I missed all of them, even Max, though things were unspeakably awkward between us at the end. I opened Nadia’s first: LB! You know I miss you like crazy, right? Courtney’s in your bed right now, and she has completely alphabetized my books. I’m pretty sure there will be a lending library program implemented the next time I get home from work. So how’s Nebraska? Did you find a job yet? Have you started applying to any schools? I have like ten more questions but you’ll get grumpy if I dump them on you all at once. Hug and kiss my family for me, okay? Write back soon or I’m sending my brother to track you down. She didn’t mention the hot single dad she’d broken up with right before I left. Mr. Hot Ginger had dumped Nadia for her own good, which would drive her quietly crazy. I’d felt horrible about the timing, but there was little I could do about it. I hadn’t gotten to know him well before I left, but Ty seemed like a good guy. He was only a few years older than us, but already had a four-year-old. That was the crux of the conflict. Writing back, I didn’t quite nail the tone, talking about Rob too much and inventing interesting anecdotes because there was so little going on. I could’ve mentioned Krista, but Nadia had never been as close to her, and there was some tension by the time she moved. Mostly I didn’t want Nadia to worry; things would be fine once I got a job and had less time to fret about whether I’d made the right decision. I opened Angus’s email next: Hey, you. Got your check. It appears not to be rubber, but I said you didn’t have to pay me back. I hate you for leaving. Come back right now. I’ll wait. This is me, waiting. It’s been at least five minutes. You’re shattering my faith in humanity, Lauren. Take responsibility for it! Not sure what you’ve heard from Nadia, but she’s such a hot mess. I can’t believe you abandoned us. All the light has left my life. All of it! Okay, enough drama. I’m working on getting over Josh. Classes suck but I will survive. (You’re singing it now, aren’t you?) “Damn you, Angus Starr. You know me too well.” I got up on my bed with a hairbrush and sang two verses before reading on. In all seriousness, there is a Lauren-sized hole in my life. Please don’t lose touch. Write soon. Love and hugs, Angus. It was simpler writing back to Angus; our friendship was sweet and uncomplicated. Briefly I considered deleting Max’s email without opening it, but that seemed like an asshole move. In the end, I read it, two lines only: I’m sorry about everything. Take care of yourself.  

Grab the whole series today!

2B Trilogy


    Author Photo

About Ann Aguirre
Ann Aguirre is a New York Times & USA Today bestselling author and RITA winner with a degree in English Literature; before she began writing full time, she was a clown, a clerk, a voice actress, and a savior of stray kittens, not necessarily in that order. She grew up in a yellow house across from a cornfield, but now she lives in sunny Mexico with her husband, children, and various pets. Ann likes books, emo music, action movies, and she writes all kinds of genre fiction for adults and teens, published with Harlequin, Macmillan, and Penguin, among others.      

Website **Facebook**Twitter**Tumblr ** Goodreads ** Newsletter SignUp


ALAYLM Available button



Monday, September 29, 2014

Celebrate New Adult Day with Between The Covers/William Morrow on October 2nd!


New Adult Day is October 2nd! 
I love this idea of celebrating New Adult books. Thankfully Between The Covers (William Morrow) does too! They're celebrating the first ever NEW ADULT DAY this Thursday with some of my favorite NA authors. Find out more about their celebrations below:

We officially declare October 2nd to be New Adult Day! A day to celebrate authors, readers, bloggers, book boyfriends, book girlfriends, true loves, first jobs, and all the joys that come with being young and free! 

Join us from 12 p.m. to 10 p.m. EDT as some of our favorite authors and bloggers chat about their favorite books and this genre we're all crazy for! 10 prize packs will be given away, one each hour, to a randomly selected participant, and one grand prize winner, announced at the end of the day, will win a copy of EVERY SINGLE New Adult book that has been published by William Morrow and Avon. That’s more than 35 books! 

Here’s the tentative schedule (authors all confirmed, but times subject to change!). Blogger co-hosts to be announced soon!

12 to 1 p.m. Cora Carmack
1 to 2 p.m. Author Caisey Quinn
2 to 3 p.m. Sophie Jordan
3 to 4 p.m. Jennifer L. Armentrout
4 to 5 p.m. Megan Erickson - Author
5 to 6 p.m. Noelle August
6 to 7 p.m. Tessa Bailey
7 to 8 p.m. Molly McAdams
8 to 9 p.m. Nichole Chase
9 to 10 p.m. Jay Crownover

Follow Between The Covers on Facebook and stay in the loop with their exciting news, book releases & more. 

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Stay With Me by J. Lynn, Release Day Launch / Trailer Reveal & Read An Excerpt & ENTER TO WIN!

SWM RDL Banner  

I am so pleased to be apart of today's Release Day Launch for Jennifer L. Armentrout's STAY WITH ME! I love Jennifer's new adult books. STAY WITH ME is Jennifer's newest New Adult contemporary romance being published by Avon (William Morrow), an imprint of HarperCollins, and is a part of Jennifer’s With You Saga!

  Stay With Me Cover

     STAY WITH ME Synopsis

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wait for You and Be with Me comes a daring tale that pushes boundaries . . .

At 21, Calla hasn't done a lot of things. She’s never been kissed, never seen the ocean, never gone to an amusement park. But growing up, she witnessed some things no child ever should.   She still carries the physical and emotional scars of living with a strung-out mother, Mona—secrets she keeps from everyone, including her close circle of college friends.

But the safe cocoon Calla has carefully built is shattered when she discovers her mom has stolen her college money and run up a huge credit card debt in her name. Now, Calla has to go back to the small town she thought she’d left behind and clean up her mom’s mess again. Of course, when she arrives at her mother’s bar, Mona is nowhere to be found. Instead, six feet of hotness named Jackson James is pouring drinks and keeping the place humming.

Sexy and intense, Jax is in Calla’s business from the moment they meet, giving her a job and helping her search for Mona. And the way he looks at her makes it clear he wants to get horizontal . . . and maybe something more. Before Calla can let him get close, though, she’s got to deal with the pain of the past—and some very bad guys out to mess her up if she doesn't give them her mom.

Buy it from: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | iTunes | Kobo | GooglePlay
Add it Novel Goodreads

Check out the book trailer! 


READ AN EXCERPT


Stay With Me Teaser 2

As I lay there, trying to swallow a loud, obnoxious yawn, I remembered something he’d said when we first met, about life being too short. I imagined he had firsthand experience with shortened lives while he was serving. That mentality came from experience. I got that now. Could even understand it, but there was something I didn’t understand. 
“Why?” I asked.
There was a beat. “Why what?”
Jax sounded tired, and I should shut up or point out that I was now tired and could sleep, so he could leave. But I didn’t. “Why are you here? You don’t know me and . . .” I trailed off, because there really wasn’t anything left to say. 
A minute went by, and he hadn’t answered my question, and then I think another minute ticked on, and I was okay with him not answering because maybe he didn’t even know. Or maybe he was just bored and that was why he was here. 
But then he moved. 
Jax pressed against my back, and the next breath I took got stuck in my throat. My eyes shot open. The sheet and blanket were between us, but they felt like nothing. 
“What are you doing?” I asked. 
“Getting comfortable.” He dropped an arm over my waist, and my entire body jerked against his. “It’s time to sleep I think.”
“But—”
“You can’t sleep when you talk,” he remarked.
“You don’t need to be all up on me,” I pointed out.
His answering chuckle stirred the hair along the back of my neck. “Honey, I’m not all up on you.”
I freaking begged to differ on that point. I started to wiggle away, but the arm around my waist tightened, holding me in place. 
“You’re not going anywhere,” he announced casually, as if he wasn’t holding me prisoner in the bed. 
Okay. The whole prisoner thing might be melodramatic, but he wasn’t letting me up. Not when he was getting all kinds of comfy behind me. 
Oh my God, this was spooning. Total spooning. I was spooning with an honorary member of the Hot Guy Brigade. Did I wake up in a parallel universe?
“Sleep,” he demanded, as if the one word carried that much power. “Go to sleep, Calla.” This time his voice was softer, quieter.
“Yeah, it doesn’t work that way, Jax. You have a nice voice, but it doesn’t hold the power to make me sleep on your command.”
He chuckled.
I rolled my eyes, but the most ridiculous thing ever was the fact that after a couple of minutes, my eyes stayed shut. I . . . I actually settled in against him. With his front pressed to my back, his long legs cradling mine, and his arm snug around my waist, I actually did feel safe. More than that, I felt something else—something I hadn’t felt in years. 
I felt cared for . . . cherished. 
Which was the epitome of dumb, because I barely knew him, but feeling that, recognizing what the warm, buzzing feeling was, I fell right asleep.
  
About Jennifer L. Armentrout/J.Lynn


Author Photo

#1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki. Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.  

Find Jen via: Website |  Facebook | Twitter | J. Lynn Goodreads | Goodreads


ENTER TO WIN! 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Good Luck!

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Whatever Life Throws at You by Julie Cross, Book Review


By: Julie Cross
Published by: Entangled Teen
To Be Released on: October 7th, 2014
Source: ebook from publisher to review
Ages: 17 & older
Add it to Goodreads

Life loves a good curveball…

Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major leagues as the new pitching coach for the Kansas City Royals. Now she's living in Missouri (too cold), attending an all-girls school (no boys), and navigating the strange world of professional sports. But Annie has dreams of her own—most of which involve placing first at every track meet…and one starring the Royals' super-hot rookie pitcher.

But nineteen-year-old Jason Brody is completely, utterly, and totally off-limits. Besides, her dad would kill them both several times over. Not to mention Brody has something of a past, and his fan club is filled with C-cupped models, not smart-mouthed high school “brats” who can run the pants off every player on the team. Annie has enough on her plate without taking their friendship to the next level. The last thing she should be doing is falling in love.

But baseball isn't just a game. It's life. And sometimes, it can break your heart…


An addicting and gritty story about family, friendships, falling in love, and choosing to follow your own path. Whatever Life Throws At You is a story that combined my love of sports, and YA romance in a way only one other YA author, Katie McGarry, has done. This is a realistic story that doesn't gloss over both the good and bad that life pitches to it's characters. It's a story about learning to listen to your own heart. It will make you laugh, cry, swoon, and  have you rooting for Annie & Jason. It's a book older young adult readers and new adult readers alike, will enjoy. 


I am a picky YA contemporary reader. I'm even pickier when it comes to what I like to call, "realistic YA contemporary" books. You know the books that don't sugar coat the good and the bad that teens deal with in real life. In fact, there's maybe three authors who's realistic contemporary books I'll read, Katie McGarry is one of them. Well, now Julie Cross has been added to that list. 

Whatever Life Throws At You is a book that surprised me. When I sat down to read it, I wasn't excepting to become addicted to the book. This is a book that to me, borderlines upper YA and NA reading. Cross does a fabulous job at tackling those feelings and emotions that come with being on the cusp of adulthood. You know that stage... where you're seventeen year's old, and have the world at your hands, and yet you're still not quite legal, and allowed to tackle the world no matter how bad you want to or think you can. Or maybe you'll understand what the nineteen year is going through. He didn't always make the best choices as a teen, while his past still haunts him, he's given a new chance to fulfill his dream. Even if he'll always have someone throwing his demons in his face.

Julie Cross doesn't make life the easiest for her characters. Being that this book is a realistic contemporary book, it mirrors real life to extent, and life is not easy. But like real life, even with all the heartache, and the damaged pasts, there's new beginnings, friendship, love, happiness and hope. Both Annie and Jason are characters who haven't had the easiest lives, but who does right? The brokenness each character has that slowly gets peeled away little by little as the story goes on, is masked behind a certain kind of strength I admired in both characters. 

Annie and Jason are strong characters, and yet they both have flaws, which made them feel human to me, vs being characters I was reading about in a book. I liked the way  Cross not only wrote them, but the way she developed them made them both relatable characters. Sure I may not have grown up having the same experiences they each had or are over coming, but emotionally, Cross tied me to them.  I felt for them. I cheered them on. I laughed, and cried with them. As a reader, I wanted both of the characters to succeed in their dreams, to over come their fears, learn from their past mistakes, and realize that even when everyone around them was against them, if they believed, they could over come their odds.

Jason Brody is a character I think a lot of fans are going to fall head over heels in love with. The more you get to know Jason, the harder he is to resist. There's so much more to him than meets the eye, and what is heard about in the press in this book. Annie for her part is a character I would have loved to have been friends one. She loves sports and she more than gets the game. She's also a character who says it how it is, and I admire her straight forwardness. I loved watching these two fall in love and the way they did so. They have an undeniable chemistry that definitely heated up the pages of this book. 

Aside from Annie and Jason, Cross introduced me to some pretty amazing characters who all played a huge role in the story. I love it when an author doesn't leave out characters who are family both literarily and figuratively speaking. I loved getting to know them. With meeting each of them, I slowly got to understand both Annie and Jason better. I also liked the ins and outs I learned about that happen behind the scenes of a baseball game. I'm not talking about the game that gets played on the field, but the game that is played that dictates star athletes lives. Wow, talk about adding to the drama. Kudos to Cross for tackling realistic topics, and situations that our characters get themselves into/find themselves in (whether they want to or not), that not only have an impact on them, but those they love. 

Whatever Life Throws at You is a book I think older YA readers and NA readers alike will love. It has a lot of NA cross over appeal. Being that it's a book for older readers, I liked that Cross didn't back down for tackling more mature situations, and how things were handled. There's something without giving anything away. This a book that does a great job at combining my love of YA romances and sports. You know you've read a good book, when you get to the end and not only feel satisfied with it, but you always don't want the story to end. That was the case with this book. 

Monday, September 15, 2014

WICKED by Jennifer L. Armentrout, Cover Reveal

I am so excited to bring you the Cover Reveal for Jennifer L. Armentrout's WICKED! WICKED is a New Adult Paranormal Romance and is a part of Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Wicked Trilogy. It is being released on December 8th, 2014. So make sure you pre-order it today! Check out this smokin' cover!!

  Wicked

Talk about a hot cover! I'm LOVING this cover!


WICKED Synopsis

Things are about to get Wicked in New Orleans. 

Twenty-two year old Ivy Morgan isn’t your average college student. She, and others like her, know humans aren’t the only thing trolling the French Quarter for fun… and for food. Her duty to the Order is her life. After all, four years ago, she lost everything at the hands of the creatures she’d sworn to hunt, tearing her world and her heart apart. 


 Ren Owens is the last person Ivy expected to enter her rigidly controlled life. He’s six feet and three inches of temptation and swoon-inducing charm. With forest-green eyes and a smile that’s surely left a stream of broken hearts in its wake, he has an uncanny, almost unnatural ability to make her yearn for everything he has to offer. But letting him in is as dangerous as hunting the cold-blooded killers stalking the streets. Losing the boy she loved once before had nearly destroyed her, but the sparking tension that grows between them becomes impossible for Ivy to deny. Deep down, she wants… she needs more than what her duty demands of her, what her past has shaped for her. 


But as Ivy grows closer to Ren, she realizes she’s not the only one carrying secrets that could shatter the frail bond between them. There’s something he’s not telling her, and one thing is for certain. She’s no longer sure what is more dangerous to her—the ancient beings threatening to take over the town or the man demanding to lay claim to her heart and her soul. 


Add it to Goodreads 
Pre-Order it from Amazon

Visit Jennifer's post about the cover HERE to read a sneak peak!

About Jennifer L. Armentrout


Author Photo

# 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki. 

Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. 

 She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.   

Find Jennifer: Website | Facebook | Twitter |Author Goodreads

Monday, September 8, 2014

RIGHT KIND OF WRONG by Chelsea Fine; Blog Tour: Excerpt & Giveaway


Hello & welcome to the last day of the RIGHT KIND OF WRONG blog tour! Trust me, this is the right kind of book for you if you're looking for something that has awesome character chemistry and plenty of sizzle to it. After all, this is a Chelsea Fine book, and I wouldn't except anything less. Though I admit, this might be my favorite book of hers to date. 


RIGHT KIND OF WRONG by Chelsea Fine (September 2, 2014; Forever E-Book; $4.99)
Sometimes wrong can feel oh so right . . . Jenna Lacombe needs complete control, whether it's in the streets . . . or between the sheets. So when she sets out on a solo road trip to visit her family in New Orleans, she's beyond annoyed that the infuriatingly sexy Jack Oliver wants to hitch a ride with her. Ever since they shared a wild night together last year, he's been trying to strip away her defenses one by one. He claims he's just coming along to keep her safe-but what's not safe for her is prolonged exposure to the tattooed hottie.

Jack can't get Jenna out from under his skin. She makes him feel alive again after his old life nearly destroyed him-and losing her is not an option. Now Jack's troubles are catching up to him, and he's forced to return to his hometown in Louisiana. But when his secrets put them both in harm's way, Jenna will have to figure out how far she's willing to let love in . . . and how much she already has.

Buy Links:

Read an excerpt:

Opening my car door, I slide into the driver’s seat, turn to put the key in the ignition and—

“Ahh!” Jumping back, I thwack my open palm against the gigantic body of pure muscle seated in the passenger seat. “Dammit, Jack! You scared me!”
“Good morning.” He grins.
“What are you doing in my car?” I snap, throwing him some serious stink eye.
“I’m going with you to Louisiana.” He nods to a large duffle bag in the backseat.
I blink. “Uh, no you’re not.”
“Uh, yes I am.”
“Like hell.”
He crinkles his brow. “I’ve never understood that phrase. But okay. I’ll go with you ‘like hell,’ whatever that means.”
“Get out of my car.” I point to the door.
“Oh, Jenna.” He clucks his tongue. “This will be good for both of us. Listen.” He casually leans against the passenger window and pierces me with his gray eyes. “For reasons beyond my control, I need to go back home. And for reasons beyond your control, so do you. And since our ‘homes’ are right next door to one another, I figured we’d carpool to Louisiana and you can just drop me off at Little Vail on your way to New Orleans.”
He gives me that little-boy smile of his and it’s all I can do not to lean forward and soak it in. I hate me.
“I don’t see how that’s good for me,” I say. “At all.”
He shrugs. “You get some company on the road.”
I nod with a clenched jaw. “And you get a free ride.”
His smile grows and I instantly realize that was the wrong thing to say.
“Precisely,” he says.
I can’t afford to spend any excessive time with Jack. Not just because we fight, but because of what happened last year. It was one crazy night when we were both drunk, and we never spoke of it after the fact, but our “friendship” has been tense ever since.
“Well, I don’t need any company,” I say, shaking my head.
“Sure you do,” he says easily. “Everyone needs company.”
“Not me. So get out.”
He grins. “No.”
God I hate him. But not really.
God I hate that I don’t hate him.
I jut my chin and stare him over. “Fine. If you won’t remove yourself…” Exiting the car, I stomp around the hood to his door, yank it open, and wrap my hands around his bicep. Then I start pulling.
He doesn’t budge. Like, he literally doesn’t move an inch as I tug at his oversized arm and grunt like I’m trying to move a massive piece of hardwood furniture and not a human being.
His eyes dance as he watches my struggle. “What’s your plan here, Jenna? Haul me out of the car and leave me in the street?”
“Sounds good to me.”
“Well, that doesn’t sound friendly at all,” he says, flicking the lever to recline to seat a bit so he looks even more relaxed than before.
“I wasn’t trying to be friendly,” I grit out.
“Clearly.”
I try pulling him out again, to no avail. He’s giant and solid, and honestly, just touching him is turning me on.
I drop my hands and glower at him. “You can’t just tell me that you’re coming along on my road trip.”
He cocks his head. “Would you feel better if I asked?”
“Not especially.”
“Jenna.” He leans forward and his gaze bores through me, down into the deepest parts of my being. “Will you please let me join you on your trip to Louisiana?”
For a moment, I’m lost in his eyes, debating with myself. I don’t trust myself around Jack. Not at all. But I did spend half the night tossing in my sleep with nightmares about traveling alone so maybe having Jack tag along might not be so bad after all. Maybe.
Pulling back, I straighten my shoulders and relent, like usual when it comes to Jack.
“Fine,” I huff out as I stomp back to my side of the car in climb in. “But no talking,” I say, hoping I haven’t just made a huge mistake.
He grins and I turn away.
Surely I can manage to keep my panties on around Jack for a few days…right?
About the author:

Chelsea lives in Phoenix, Arizona, where she spends most of her time writing stories, painting murals, and avoiding housework at all costs. She's ridiculously bad at doing dishes and claims to be allergic to laundry. Her obsessions include: superheroes, coffee, sleeping-in, and crazy socks. She lives with her husband and two children, who graciously tolerate her inability to resist teenage drama on TV and her complete lack of skill in the kitchen. 

Social Media Links:


ENTER TO WIN!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, September 4, 2014

A Memory of Violets by Hazel Gaynor, Cover Reveal & Excert

I'm so thrilled to be apart of today's cover reveal for A Memory of Violets by Hazel Gaynor, being published by William Morrow. Check out the cover below & read an excerpt from the book!



From the author of the USA Today bestseller The Girl Who Came Home comes an unforgettable historical novel that tells the story of two little sisters - orphaned flower sellers - and the young woman who will be transformed by their experiences.
  ‘For Little Sister … I will never stop looking for you.’
 1876. Among the filth and depravity of Covent Garden’s flower markets, orphaned Irish sisters Flora and Rosie Flynn sell posies of violets and watercress to survive. It is a pitiful existence, made bearable only by the presence of each other. When they become separated, the decision of a desperate woman sets their lives on very different paths.
 1912. Twenty-one-year-old Tilly Harper leaves the peace and beauty of her native Lake District for London, to become assistant housemother at Mr. Shaw’s Home for Watercress and Flower Girls. For years, the home has cared for London’s orphaned and crippled flower girls, taking them off the streets. For Tilly, the appointment is a fresh start; a chance to leave her troubled past behind.
Soon after she arrives, Tilly discovers a notebook belonging to Flora Flynn. Hidden between the pages she finds dried flowers and a heartbreaking tale of loss and separation as Flora’s entries reveal how she never stopped looking for her sister.  Tilly sets out to discover what happened to Rosie. But the search will not be easy. Full of twists and surprises, it leads the caring and determined young woman into unexpected places, including the depths of her own heart.
Hazel Gaynor is the author of The Girl Who Came Home (William Morrow Paperbacks; ISBN: 9780062316868; 04/15/2014). She is also a freelance writer, writing regularly for the national press, magazines and websites in Ireland and the UK. Her writing success has been featured in The Sunday Times Magazine and Irish Times and she has also appeared on TV and radio. Hazel is a guest blogger and features writer for national Irish writing website writing.ie for which she has interviewed, among others, Philippa Gregory, Sebastian Faulks and Cheryl Strayed. Hazel was the recipient of the 2012 Cecil Day Lewis award for Emerging Writers and appeared as a guest speaker at the Romantic Novelists’ Association Conference and the Historical Novel Society Conference in 2014. You can reach her at https://www.facebook.com/hazelgaynorbooks.

William Morrow Trade Paperback; February 3, 2015; $14.99; ISBN: 9780062316899

Monday, September 1, 2014

In Her Wake by K.A. Tucker; Release Day Launch

IHW RDL Banner  

I'm excited to bring share with you the Release Day Launch for K.A. Tucker's IN HER WAKE! IN HER WAKE is a new adult contemporary romance and a prequel novella in the Ten Tiny Breaths Series, published by Atria Press (an imprint of Simon & Schuster).

  In Her Wake

Amazon | B&N | iBookstore | BAM | Bookish | Other

EXCERPT: That’s how I spot her. There’s no doubt that it’s her; I’ve memorized her face. Leaning against a wall on the opposite side, her lips wrapped around a clear bottle filled with clear liquor, her fiery red hair a wild mane against the stark white wall, a tight black T-shirt showing off toned arms. She’s in no rush to part with that bottle, guzzling back a good portion before she hands it off to someone, wiping her mouth with the back of her hand. Her eyes at half-mast. She’s wasted. My heart starts racing. What the hell is Kacey Cleary doing here? By my calculation, she’s probably finishing her last year of high school, having lost at least half a year while recovering. I tug my cap down even farther, though I doubt she can see two feet in front of her.
  1. What if she does recognize me? How would she react? Does she know my real name? What I look like? I can’t say for sure that my face wasn’t printed in a newspaper somewhere. She could have Googled my name and found a dozen game shots with me in them. I have my helmet on in most of them, but you can find a profile picture of me easily enough if you’re looking.
I don’t know that she was, though. I wonder if Kacey Cleary gives a f*** about anything anymore. Her Facebook account is inactive. She hasn’t posted a single word and the well-wishes have dwindled, as everyone moves on. I do know that she shouldn’t be at a party in this state. I’ve heard of bad things happening when girls get that drunk. Especially when they don’t care. But what do I do? A blonde stumbles into my chest with two beers in hand. “Hey, do you go here? What’s your name?” She’s tipping her head back way farther than necessary to look up at me, telling me she’s trying to flirt but is too drunk to do it right. I smile down at her anyway. She’s a good cover. I can stand right here and watch Kacey. “I’m Trent, and I used to go here.” “Really? When’d you graduate?” From the corner of my eye, I see Kacey shift from the wall and begin climbing the stairs, her arm hooked around the railing to help her. Two guys following her.

IHW Promo banner

About IN HER WAKE: 
Cole Reynolds had it all. And then one night he makes a bad choice... and loses everything. When a drunken night out at a Michigan State college party results in the death of six people, Cole must come to terms with his part in the tragedy. Normally, he'd be able to lean on his best friends. The best friends that have been in his life since he could barely walk. Only, they're gone. Worse, there's the shattered body of a sixteen-year-old girl lying somewhere in a hospital bed, her entire life ripped from her because of a case of beer and a set of keys. Everyone assures him that they know it wasn't intentional and yet he can't ignore the weight of their gazes, the whispers behind his back. The all-consuming guilt he feels every time he thinks of that girl who won't so much as allow him near her hospital room to apologize. As the months go by and the shame and loneliness festers, Cole begins to lose his grip of what once was important-college, his girlfriend, his future. His life. It's not until Cole hits rock-bottom that he can begin to see another way out of his personal hell: forgiveness. And there's only one person who can give that to him...  

TenTinyBreathsSeries

And don’t miss the previous titles in the Ten Tiny Breaths Series!


Author Photo

ABOUT K.A. TUCKER: Born in small-town Ontario, Kathleen published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader and the farthest thing from a genre-snob, loving everything from High Fantasy to Chick Lit. Kathleen currently resides in a quaint small town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.      Website | Twitter | Facebook | Author Goodreads | YouTube | Pinterest | Instagram
 
Enter To Win