Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Shh! (Oxley College Saga Book 1) by Stacey Nash Book Review

I am so excited to be reviewing Shh! released this week from fellow Aussie Stacey Nash.


By: Stacey Nash
Published by: Stacey Nash
Released 23rd Feb 2015
Series: Oxley College Saga
Rated: 3.5 stars 
Source: ARC
Get the Book from Amazon

Nineteen-year-old Olivia Dean has the perfect reputation, the perfect boyfriend, and an increasingly perfect CV. She has it all, until Christian breaks up with her in public, calling her out as a self-gratifying sexoholic: the kind that plays solo. But Olivia doesn’t do any such thing — the only thing she does at night is sleep … right? 

Now all the boys on campus seem to want her attention for the absolutely wrong reason — including resident hottie, Logan Hays. He's pulling out his best moves to gain her attention, so resisting his sexy charm is hard work. With rapidly slipping grades, a disturbingly lurid reputation and demanding parents, Olivia must discover the truth behind her rumoured sleeping problem. If she doesn't, the perfect life she's worked so hard for may slip away, including the one person who has Olivia breaking all her rules — Logan.

What do you do when you’re asleep?  

Shh! is a story about acceptance, learning to trust and in turn love while facing life's unexpected difficulties. 

NB: This book is of a mild heat level, and contains no explicit sex scenes.


I was dying to read this when I found out Stacey Nash was writing a NA series set in an Australian University (College).  Some of you may know from Stacey's YA books The Collective Series, you can read my review of Book 1: Forget Me Not here. I loved my days at Uni and unlike many Australians I did live on campus in a college like where this book is set. 


I'll admit I wasn't so sure about this book at the start. The rumours being spread in the story and the way the students acted made it seem way too much like high school for me. But as the story progressed and the characters developed it all started to make sense. How our lead Olivia deals with the rumours and the way they started effecting all parts of her life, is the real story here. 


If you like romance and with a little heat, you are going to love Logan and Olivia. How he looks after her and gives her the confidence she needs to stand up to her enemies is wonderful. It is definitely a story of discovery, a story of indeed growing from high school nervousness to adult maturity and coping with the people who will want to bring you down. But don't get me wrong, its not all seriousness, it is great quick light read. It really is a lot of fun with lots of LOL moments and enough hot stuff to make us swoon. 


Friday, February 20, 2015

LURE by Alyssa Rose Ivy; Blog Tour: Author Interview & Enter To WIN!


Hello & welcome to the last stop in this week's LURE release week celebration, hosted by InkSlinger PR. I'm so thrilled to have author Alyssa Rose Ivy on the blog today. After you read my interview with her, you can read more about her newest release, LURE, and don't miss your chance to enter to win! 


Alyssa Rose Ivy- Author Photo
Hi Alyssa! Welcome to Grown Up Book Reviews. What was one of the most surprising things you learned when creating The Allure Chronicles?
I wasn’t expecting to love writing a more grown up Owen so much! Lure takes place two and a half years after Seduction’s Kiss, and I loved getting to write Owen in his mid-twenties.
What do you like to do when you're not writing?
I love spending every moment I can with my family, I love reading, getting outside as much as possible, and listening to music.
What inspired you to set this series in New Orleans?
I went to college in New Orleans, so I tend to set many of my books there, especially my paranormal romances. There is just something about the Crescent City that makes you believe that the paranormal is real. The Allure Chronicles is a spin-off of the Crescent Chronicles which was inspired by my own experience moving down from NY to New Orleans after high school and falling in love with the city. Although of course my experience did not involve meeting a guy with wings. : )
Did you visit New Orleans before or during the writing of LURE and SEDUCTION’S KISS?
As I mentioned above, I went to college in New Orleans, so I have four years of experiences to pull from. It’s going to be ten years this May (can’t believe that’s possible!) since I graduated, but New Orleans still has a special place in my heart.
What are your current projects?
My next release after Lure is The Hazards of Sleeping with a Friend, the latest in my Hazards contemporary romance series. After that is Savor (The Empire Chronicles #4). The Empire Chronicles is one of my four NA Paranormal Romance series that can all be read separately but are part of the same world and feature lots of familiar faces. The four series are The Crescent Chronicles, The Empire Chronicles, The Allure Chronicles and the Dire Wolves Chronicles.
What books have most influenced your life?
Personal essays, particularly some by Annie Dillard, inspired me to explore my own narrative voice, and I don’t believe I or my writing would be the same without it. Herman Melville’s Moby Dick was one of those books that made me realize that my taste in literature sometimes differed from others, and that like most things in life, being different isn’t bad. I absolutely love the book, and to this day I still return to it as an example of a perfect and haunting depiction of obsession.
What books have most influenced your writing?
My love of fantasy which ended up developing into a love of paranormal started with J.R.R. Tolkien. I still remember the first time my father read The Hobbit to me. As a writer I was also influenced by Jane Austen, Herman Melville, and a few dog eared volumes of personal essays.
ABOUT THE BOOK


  LURE
About LURE: 

 There's danger in the beauty...Two years, six months, and twenty-five days. That's how long it had been since I'd seen my winged hero— not that I'd been counting. I'd suffered through years of counseling just to convince my friends and family that I wasn't crazy and knew he didn't exist.

But he did. And I was done waiting.

Days after college graduation I headed back down to New Orleans to retrace my steps and find Owen again only to find my life was about to get even crazier... thanks to the most beautiful and dangerous of all paranormal creatures, the Allures.

Purchase from Amazon ** Barnes & Noble ** GooglePlay ** iTunes ** Kobo

Seductions Kiss

Don't miss SEDUCTION'S KISS, the prequel novella to Lure (The Allure Chronicles #1)...


About SEDUCTION’S KISS:

*Prequel novella to Lure (The Allure Chronicles #1)*

Never agree to a road trip to New Orleans with your roommate. At least not when your roommate is dragging you along while she reconnects with an ex-boyfriend. Possible consequences of failing to take my advice:

1) Unknowingly going out with a vampire stripper
2) Getting kidnapped by said vampire's nest mates
3) Falling head over heels for your winged hero

Believe it or not number 3 is the worst one, especially when no one believes you that he exists. 

Purchase from: Amazon ** Barnes and Noble ** iTunes ** GooglePlay ** Kobo

About Alyssa Rose Ivy: 

Alyssa Rose Ivy is a New Adult and Young Adult author who loves to weave stories with romance and a southern setting. Although raised in the New York area, she fell in love with the South after moving to New Orleans for college. After years as a perpetual student, she turned back to her creative side and decided to write. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and two young children, and she can usually be found with a cup of coffee in her hand.     

Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Pinterest ** Novel Goodreads ** Author Goodreads

ENTER TO WIN

a Rafflecopter giveaway

LURE Available now

Wednesday, February 18, 2015

THE RETURN by Jennifer Armentrout; Blog Tour: Book Review & Enter To Win a SIGNED copy of the Book!



Hello & welcome to the first stop in THE RETURN blog tour! I am so thrilled to be apart of this week's blog tour, and have the chance to help promote one of my favorite author's newest releases. Fans of The Covenant series will love getting read more about Seth. Read my spoiler free review and then enter to WIN a SIGNED copy of The Return!

 ABOUT THE BOOK


By: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published by: Spencer Hill Press
Released on: 2/16/15
Series: The Titan #1
Purchase from: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | iBooks | Booksamillion
Add it to Goodreads
Rating: 5 Stars - I loved It!
Source: signed arc from author at BEA 2014

It's been a year since Seth made the deal with the gods that pledged his life to them. And so far, the jobs they've given him have been violent and bloody--which is kind of all right with him. But now Apollo has something else in mind for Seth. He's got to play protector while keeping his hands and fingers off, and for someone who really has a problem with restraint, this new assignment might be the most challenging yet.

Josie has no idea what this crazy hot guy's deal might be, but it's a good bet that his arrival means the new life she started after leaving home is about to be thrown into an Olympian-sized blender turned up to puree. Either Josie is going insane or a nightmare straight out of ancient myth is gunning for her.

But it might be the unlikely attraction simmering between her and the golden-eyed, secret-keeping Seth that may prove to be the most dangerous thing of all.

Because history has once again been flipped to repeat.

My favorite Apollyon is back! Fans of Jennifer L. Armentrtout's Covenant series will enjoy being back in the world of Demi-Gods, Sentinels, Pures, and of course the unforgettable Apollyon, Seth. Picking up not long after the Covenant series ends, The Return gives readers a different side to Seth than we have see before. Though the previous series was written for a YA audience, this new series is written for a NA (new adult) audience. 

Seth's redemption is so bitter sweet.

Oh Seth! I don't even know what to say about him, other than the fact he about killed me in this book. I mean that in such a good way. He has changed so much since the end of The Covenant series. Seeing how his previous actions have effected him, and how he sees himself, and what he's battling within himself broke my heart. I liked that Armentrout allowed me to see that side to Seth. I knew there was so much more to Seth than I got to see in The Covenant, and I loved that I got to see that in The Return. I felt that I got to know Seth on a much more intimate level than previously. Don't worry, there's still that part of Seth who runs his mouth, and isn't afraid to say what he things or feels. That's a part of him that will never change. Thank goodness for that. I love that about him. 

One of the things I love is when a character like Seth, who's a total bada**, meets a character who is so unlike the previous girls that were his type, and falls for them. Josie is a character who changes Seth is so many ways. She's one of those innocent, pure, sweet characters whom I wouldn't have seen Seth with in The Covenant series. She is completely opposite of Seth on every level. In The Return, Josie is exactly what Seth needs, and he is exactly what Josie needs.  Though she may not at first seem it, Josie is a pretty resilient character who quickly learns that the impossible is possible. When the jar of Greek Mythology craziness is opened, and she discovers how she's apart of it all, she definitely shows her strength, and learns to quickly adapt. That's of course not without consequences, and having her life threatened more than once. 

All the things I love about an Armentrout romance are very much apart of this book. 

I felt that I got the right amount of physical as well as the emotional connection between these two. I loved what Seth and Josie do for each other in this book. There's something between the two of them that was evident and felt through out the story. The chemistry and things I loved in The Covenant series, is in full Seth force in this book! The sparks definitely fly between these he and Josie. There's also no shortage of snark. I love how the two of them can dish it to each other. There are so many things between Seth and Josie that I loved. Some of those things you'll have to read about, because it would be extremely spoilery to list them. But trust me, Apollo definitely has a sense of humor in this book. I should also add, he definitely knew what he was doing with Seth in this book. Speaking of Apollo, I loved getting a look at how things have changed after The Covenant series ended, and getting a more detailed looked into the over all mythology. 

I loved seeing some of my favorite Covenant characters back together again. 

Fans will love seeing how some of the their favorite The Covenant characters play apart in this story. All the characters who played a huge role in that series are either apart of the storyline here physically, or are at least mentioned in some fashion. I liked knowing what the characters have been up and what they are doing now. 

The Return is awesome! 

I'm a sucker for Armentrout's books, and this book is just as great as the rest of The Covenant series book. The Return is a whole new series for a more mature reader audience. This is a book written for New Adult readers. I really liked that is had that feel to it. I liked seeing these characters grow, and mature as I would have excepted them to. I loved it! I would recommend this book to new adult readers. There is content in this book that will not be suitable for younger YA readers. There is language, and sexual content. 


About Jennifer L. Armentrout


# 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki.

Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV.

She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.

Follow Jennifer

The Giveaway

Enter to win a SIGNED copy of THE RETURN! The winner will be announced in 48 hrs! 


February 18-Vilma's Book Blog-Excerpt, Link to Review
February 19-Stuck in Books-Interview with Seth, Link to Review
February 20-Book Boyfriend Reviews-Review
February 21-Nose Stuck in a Book-Interview with Josie and Review
February 22-Kimberlyfaye Reads-Review
February 23-TSK TSK What to Read-Review
February 24-A Bookish Escape-Excerpt and Review
February 25-Paranormal Book Club-Review
February 26-Hypable-Excerpt


Beckon Me by Cindy Thomas, Cover Reveal

Hello and welcome today's exciting cover reveal for debut author, Cindy Thomas! 
I always get excited about revealed covers for upcoming releases, but it's even more exciting when the cover I'm revealing is a for a friend of mine. Congratulations Cindy on your upcoming debut release! I am so happy for you! 

Check out the cover for BECKON ME, her upcoming new adult release:


I'm really looking forward to reading this one! This cover is beautiful and intriguing. It's definitely a cover that would make me pick up the book.

ABOUT THE BOOK 

Available April 13, 2015

Everything nineteen-year-old Karina Mitchell knows about death changes the instant that she and her best friend, Rainey, are shot. For one, souls don’t die. They cross over. Only, Rainey’s soul hasn’t, and her ghost is hell bent on haunting Karina.

When Karina begins her sophomore year of college and moves into the apartment that she was supposed to share with Rainey, she learns a few shocking truths from her mysterious and gorgeous blue-eyed neighbor, Eli.

One: Karina has been chosen to become a Beckoner—an immortal conduit of the dead who helps safely guide souls to the other side.

Two: She’s the reason that Rainey’s soul can’t cross over—Rainey followed her back from death and missed her window to be at peace.

Three: Eli is hot. As in swoon-worthy, to-die-for, will-make-you-forget-yourself hot. And it turns out, Eli is a Beckoner, too.

Despite her attraction to Eli, the decision to become a Beckoner isn’t an easy one—it would mean giving up her own mortality … her own soul. But if she doesn’t, her best friend will be left to suffer an eternity at the hands of the evil Ceptors, dark creatures that feed on the souls left behind. After all, it’s her fault Rainey is haunting her.

Time is running out, and Karina needs to decide: Are love and loyalty worth sacrificing her soul?

BECKON ME is a dark but sweet NA paranormal romance for both NA and upper YA readers, ages 16 and up. 




ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Cindy has dreamed of being an author since third grade when she won a   writing contest for a story she wrote about her deceased great aunt. She hasn’t been able to ignore that dream since and chooses to spend most of her free time listening to the voices in her head and writing their stories.

Outside of her writing and working for Spencer Hill Press, Cindy is happily married and has three young boys. She lives in PA, but was born and raised in NC. Even though she’s lived in the northern half of the US for ten years, she still very much misses grits for breakfast and every now and then goes on a country music binge.

You can find her online in these places: Website / Newsletter / Twitter / Facebook / Goodreads 

Sign up for Cindy's newsletter and you'll receive the first four chapters of BECKON ME for free!

Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Heart of Stone by Kelly Keaton, Release Day Blitz


Hello & welcome to today's release day blitz for Heart of Stone by Kelly Keaton. 




A CHILD FATED TO START A WAR.
A LOVE SHE’LL RISK EVERYTHING TO PROTECT.

Set in New 2, a dangerous and lush alternate New Orleans, the fourth book in Keaton’s Gods & Monsters series, finds the God-killer Ari and Mistborn Sebastian on the hunt for Archer, infant son of Athena, a child fated to bring about the Blood Wars, the ultimate showdown between the gods and the monsters they created, a war that will trap mankind in the middle of a destructive conflict thousands of years in the making.

As Ari and Sebastian attempt to rescue the child, forces pull them apart, sending Sebastian on a perilous journey to the desert sands of Egypt and into the lair of a dark, enthralling entity, and Ari to the Halls of Olympus and, darker still, the very heart of the Underworld where Death awaits with a bargain that brings Ari’s worst nightmares into sharp and heart wrenching focus.


Published: February 17th, 2015
Add to GoodReads





A LOOK INSIDE HEART OF STONE....


Excerpt from a scene featuring Sebastian in HEART OF STONE by Kelly Keaton


 The Dark Mother’s power crept over him like a heavy black sludge, sinking into his pores, snaking around the inside of his skull and into his brain, eating away his will and self control.

“Come closer,” she said.

God, that voice . . . her lure, her scent, her unbelievable ability to inspire in him devotion, loyalty, and desire was so strong he wanted to weep.

Mine.

She was his and he’d kill anyone who got close to her. The magnitude of that thought, the utter faith and strength of it made him stumble back and shake his head. He blinked hard. Sweat beaded on his skin. He saw a flash of surprise in Phillip’s gaze. Saw the advisor’s brows knit with worry.

Yeah, he was pretty sure not many vamps stepped back when the Dark Mother said come closer.

As he stayed there, shaking from the weight of her lure, trying to regain control and force her dirty drug from his system, he saw her creepy eyes light with curiosity. No, they sparked, ignited. She stilled like the predator she was. Her hands gripped the sides of her cold throne and she leaned forward slightly. Eagerly.

And then she was on him, slamming into him so hard he flew back with her clutched to him, her nails digging into his arms as he hit the ground hard. Pain exploded through his neck as she sank long, ancient fangs into his skin and muscle and vein.

She angled his head to the side, holding it down hard against the floor, her palm flat against his forehead, her nails ripping into his scalp and skin as she drank.

Her presence, her power suffocated him. It was too much. He was overdosing. Losing it. She was sucking him dry. Every tug of her mouth and every movement she made against his skin elicited a bewildering mix of wild need and deep stomach-clenching disgust.

Everything in him fought. He squirmed under her, fighting to be free, yet his hands were gripping her hips tightly, pulling her closer.

His delirious gaze flew to her court as they watched in total shock.

No one was going to save him. He was alone on a sinking ship. And his fate was sealed. Just as it had been sealed with Athena’s vampire servant Zaria, who’d tortured him relentlessly. Never a chance, never a choice. Neither one gave him a choice. He’d killed Zaria, killed her good. He ground his hips against the Dark Mother. Pleasure shot through him. He’d kill her, too, kill her dead and good.

Her hair brushed over his face. It smelled so good and yet in another instant it reeked of sweat, blood, and years of oil and dirt.

Jesus. What was on him? Eating him alive...

A shot of fear plugged him in the heart and he lurched against her, all his faculties returning in a blinding moment of reality. He screamed, a guttural roar, as if fear itself had reached down and yanked it out of the deepest part of him.

And then he was fading again, sinking, being sucked down into the vortex of a beautiful lie.

She was all lies.

And he loved her so much.

Such was the power of his goddess, his Dark Mother.

He closed his eyes and let his muscles go slack, accepting her love.





AVAILABLE TODAY!
Amazon • B&N • iTunes • Smashwords







ABOUT KELLY KEATON...



Kelly is a multi-published author with nine novels currently in print. She writes the YA series, Gods & Monsters (Simon & Schuster), and the Charlie Madigan urban fantasy series (Pocket Books), which are written as Kelly Gay. She is a two-time RITA® Finalist, an ARRA nominee, a Goodreads Choice Award finalist, and has landed on the Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance's Okra Picks list. Kelly is also a recipient of North Carolina Arts Council's fellowship grant in Literature. She lives in NC with her family.










Monday, February 16, 2015

The Return by Jennifer L. Armentrout; Release Day Launch: Read An Excerpt Enter To Win

We have been dying to bring you the Release Blitz for Jennifer L. Armentrout's THE RETURN! THE RETURN is a New Adult Paranormal Romance and is a part of Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Titan Series. Seth is looking to be just as dangerously delicious as we all hoped!!


  The Return - Cover

The Fates are cackling their bony asses off... 

It's been a year since Seth made the deal with the gods that pledged his life to them. And so far, the jobs they've given him have been violent and bloody--which is kind of all right with him. But now Apollo has something else in mind for Seth. He's got to play protector while keeping his hands and fingers off, and for someone who really has a problem with restraint, this new assignment might be the most challenging yet. 

Josie has no idea what this crazy hot guy's deal might be, but it's a good bet that his arrival means the new life she started after leaving home is about to be thrown into an Olympian-sized blender turned up to puree. Either Josie is going insane or a nightmare straight out of ancient myth is gunning for her. 

But it might be the unlikely attraction simmering between her and the golden-eyed, secret-keeping Seth that may prove to be the most dangerous thing of all. 

Because history has once again been flipped to repeat.

Purchase from: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | iBooks | Booksamillion

THE RETURN Excerpt: 


I was a half-blood, but I was also the Apollyon, a child of a pure and a half, a union that had been forbidden for thousands of years because an Apollyon was more powerful than any pure or half could ever hope to be. 
And I always got to the traitors’ hideouts before they did, so the Sentinels were usually left with the cleanup, which I was sure absolutely thrilled them. 
The first to enter was a female half-blood dressed just as I was. Her black hair was pulled back in a neat little knot at the top of her head. She was older, probably in her mid-thirties. It was pretty rare for a Sentinel to live that long. Her dark skin paled as she stopped just inside the entrance. She clenched titanium daggers in her hands like she expected something vicious to pop out from under the bloody mess. 
The female Sentinel tipped her chin up, and the overhead light sliced across her broad cheekbones. She bore a jagged scar under her right eye, the skin lighter in tone. She saw me and froze. 
My smile widened. 
Behind her, another Sentinel rushed in, almost mowing her over. He saw me and whispered, “Seth.” 
He’d said my name like I was the monster under his bed, and I sort of liked that. Then another Sentinel and another rolled in. The fifth took one look at my interior design work and keeled over. Slamming his hands on his knees, he hurled up his dinner. 
Nice. 
Our society existed completely unknown to the average mortal and had operated under what was known as the Breed Order for thousands of years. The Order had been dismantled, which meant halfs were no longer forced to choose between becoming Sentinels—hunting down violent creatures, protecting pures, enforcing laws, and otherwise usually dying pretty damn quickly on the job—or servants, which was a job that really wasn’t a job, but more like slavery. Since then, many pampered pures had signed on to be Sentinels, making up for the loss of the halfs who’d pretty much said “screw this shit, I’m out.” 
This wasn’t necessarily a good thing. 
For example, the dumbass puking all over my blood-covered floor was a pure. When he straightened, his face a greenish hue, he backed away, shaking his head. “I can’t,” he gasped out. “I can’t do this.” 
Then he turned and hauled ass out the doors.
I sighed. This was why we couldn’t have nice things.

About Jennifer L. Armentrout: 


Author Photo

# 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki. Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV. She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.  

Find Jennifer via: Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Novel Goodreads ** Author Goodreads
 

The Return -- Avaialable Now

LURE by Alyssa Rose Ivy, Release Day Launch: Read An Excerpt & Enter To Win


We are so thrilled to celebrate the Release of Alyssa Rose Ivy's LURE! LURE is the first novel in her New Adult Paranormal Romance series The Allure Chronicles! Make sure you grab the prequel novella, SEDUCTION’S KISS, while it is FREE for a limited time!!!  

  LURE
About LURE: 

 There's danger in the beauty...Two years, six months, and twenty-five days. That's how long it had been since I'd seen my winged hero— not that I'd been counting. I'd suffered through years of counseling just to convince my friends and family that I wasn't crazy and knew he didn't exist.

But he did. And I was done waiting.

Days after college graduation I headed back down to New Orleans to retrace my steps and find Owen again only to find my life was about to get even crazier... thanks to the most beautiful and dangerous of all paranormal creatures, the Allures.

Purchase from Amazon ** Barnes & Noble ** GooglePlay ** iTunes ** Kobo

Read an Excerpt: 

We stood awkwardly for another moment before I had to break the silence. “It’s been a while.”
“Two and a half years.”
“I thought about you the past few Halloweens.”
“I thought about you more than that. It’s actually pretty humiliating now that I’m standing in the same room with you. I don’t know what I was thinking.” She looked away. 
“I lied.”
“About?”
I walked toward her. I had to wipe that regret off her face. “I thought about you a lot more than just Halloween.”
“Yeah?”
“Yeah.” I stopped right in front of her. “You were very memorable.” 
“So were you.” She licked her lips. Again with the lips. 
“I probably should ask you a million questions right now, but would it be okay if we put those off and did something else?”
“I guess that depends on what else you want to do?” Her eyes widened slightly. 
“I want to kiss you.”
“I’m okay with that.” Her eyes seemed to sparkle.
“Yeah?”
“Yeah.”
I didn’t wait for her to change her mind. I brushed my lips against hers gently. I was going to keep it short, but I had to know if I was glorifying the last kiss. 
She moved her lips against mine, and any thoughts of keeping it short disappeared. I wrapped my arms around her as I deepened the kiss, greedily pushing for access beyond those irresistible lips of hers. She opened up, welcoming me in with the same intoxicating taste as she had the last time. 
She moaned, encouraging me to continue the kiss. I didn’t need the encouragement. I lifted her up and carried her over to the couch. I sat down, settling her on my lap. I needed her close, closer than standing would allow. 
Her fingers tangled in my hair as she let me explore her mouth. My hands ached to explore more, but I didn’t want to rush it. I’d waited over two years to taste her lips again, and I was going to enjoy every second of it.

Seductions Kiss

Don't miss SEDUCTION'S KISS, the prequel novella to Lure (The Allure Chronicles #1)...


About SEDUCTION’S KISS:

*Prequel novella to Lure (The Allure Chronicles #1)*

Never agree to a road trip to New Orleans with your roommate. At least not when your roommate is dragging you along while she reconnects with an ex-boyfriend. Possible consequences of failing to take my advice:

1) Unknowingly going out with a vampire stripper
2) Getting kidnapped by said vampire's nest mates
3) Falling head over heels for your winged hero

Believe it or not number 3 is the worst one, especially when no one believes you that he exists. 

Purchase from: Amazon ** Barnes and Noble ** iTunes ** GooglePlay ** Kobo

About Alyssa Rose Ivy: 

Alyssa Rose Ivy- Author Photo

Alyssa Rose Ivy is a New Adult and Young Adult author who loves to weave stories with romance and a southern setting. Although raised in the New York area, she fell in love with the South after moving to New Orleans for college. After years as a perpetual student, she turned back to her creative side and decided to write. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and two young children, and she can usually be found with a cup of coffee in her hand.     

Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Pinterest ** Novel Goodreads ** Author Goodreads

ENTER TO WIN

LURE Available now

Tuesday, February 3, 2015

PERFECT KIND OF TROUBLE by Chelsea Fine, Release Day Launch: Read An Excerpt & Enter To Win


Welcome to today's release day launch for Chelsea Fine's PERFECT KIND OF TROUBLE!
Find out more about the book, read an excerpt, and enter to win!


PERFECT KIND OF TROUBLE by Chelsea Fine 
(February 3, 2015; Forever Trade Paperback; $12.00)

Sometimes when perfect falls apart, a little trouble fixes everything . . .

Twenty-one-year-old Kayla Turner has lost everything. After spending most of her life taking care of her ailing mother, she just wants to spot a glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel. So when her late father-a man she barely knew-leaves her an inheritance, she finally breathes a sigh of relief . . . until she learns the inheritance comes with strings. Strings in the form of handsome playboy Daren Ackwood, her father's protégé. To see any of her inheritance, she's forced to team up with him. From his expensive car to those sexy dimples, Kayla's seen his type before. But Daren isn't who he seems to be . . .

Struggling to make amends for his family's mistakes, Daren has a life more Oliver Twist than Richie Rich these days. He's beyond grateful that James Turner included him in his will, but working with Turner's princess of a daughter to fulfill his cryptic last wish is making Daren wonder if being broke is really so bad. Still, she's just as beautiful as she is stubborn, and the more time he spends with Kayla, the less it feels right being without her. Soon Daren and Kayla begin to wonder if maybe the best gift Kayla's dad could have left them . . . was each other.

Buy Links: | Amazon | B&N | iBooks | IndieBound |GooglePlay | Kobo | BAM!

READ AN EXCERPT

“So this is where you work?” She gestures at the closed kitchen door behind me as she approaches.
I step back so she can enter the courtyard then glance over my shoulder. “It’s more like the place where I help out in the kitchen, occasionally,” I say. “I like to cook so sometimes the owner, Jake, let’s me jump on the line.”
She tilts her head. “I wouldn’t have pegged you as the cooking type.”
“No?” I arch a brow. “What type am I?”
“Well the professional lover type, obviously.”
I grin. “That too.”
The teasing in her eyes along with the lightness of her smile does something soft to my insides. This is a different Kayla than the one I was sitting next to at the bar. That girl was stressed and burdened, but this girl… this girl is hopeful and happy.
The only reason I can think of for the change in her tone is the inheritance. Does the idea of getting money please her so much that she’s suddenly this cheerful person? Does it please me that much?
I remember Jake’s comment earlier, about my being happy, and realize with a sinking feeling that yes, the idea of an inheritance has made me happy. Money would alleviate some of my problems and, therefore, it gives me a security in my future that pleases me.
I’m not sure how I feel about money having so much control over my contentment. It makes me sound an awful lot like my dad.
“So what is this place?” she asks, nodding to the courtyard around us.
I look up at the small twinkle lights strung above the area. “Right now it’s just storage space. But Jake wants to make it into a dining patio. You know, so people can rent it out for private parties or whatever.”
“It’s cute.” She walks around, checking out the rose bushes that line the fence and the Tuscany-inspired mural painted against the back wall.
“So where you off to?” I step closer so we’re both beside the painted wall. “Back to your humble abode at the Quickie Stop?”
She scoffs. “Humble indeed. But yeah.”
I glance at the dark parking lot beyond the fence and the even darker streets that lead to the edge of town, and frown. “By yourself?”
She faces me with a cocked eyebrow. “Yeah. I’ve got my own driver’s license and everything.”
I smile at the ground. “Okay, that’s fair.” I glance at the dark streets again. “I’m just a concerned citizen that wanted to make sure you got home safely. That’s all.”
She nods. “How very kind of you, citizen. Would you rather I be going back to the Quickie Stop with someone?”
The idea of Kayla going home with someone—anyone, other than me—rakes down my spine like nails on a chalkboard. I don’t know when I got so possessive of this girl but holy hell. My veins are on fire.
How very unexpected. And somewhat annoying.
I don’t get possessive of women. Ever. Sure, I care about Amber and Pixie but that’s different. I care about them like sisters. I’m protective of them. I couldn’t really give a damn who they, or any other female in this town, go to bed with.
But Kayla?
Hot jealousy darts through my veins.
How very annoyingly unexpected.
I set my shoulders back in a casual manner. “Not particularly,” I say coolly. “I just wasn’t sure if you had a ride or not.”
“Oh.” She runs a finger over her lips. “And what, you were going to offer me a ride?”
I watch the tip of her finger skim over the pink fullness of her bottom lip and my breath hitches. She can’t say things like “give me a ride” and touch her mouth at the same time. That’s just not fair.
“Well I might have offered you a ride,” I say, inwardly cursing as I remember sweet, precious Monique, “except I’m pretty sure you’re not supposed to take rides from strangers. And since that’s what you and I are…” I sigh dramatically. “It would have just been a waste of time to ask you.”
She smiles behind her moving fingers and I start to wonder if she’d let me kiss her. My guess is, yes. Maybe.
I want to kiss Kayla. Badly. But the idea of kissing her, of touching her at all, also makes me a little nervous. And I’m never nervous when it comes to women.
Goddammit. Everything about this girl is unexpected.
“You’re so obsessed with us not being strangers,” she says, and her eyes shine. “That can’t be healthy.”
I probably shouldn’t kiss her. We have an inheritance to claim tomorrow. We have shit to follow through with. Kissing her is a bad idea. A very bad idea.
“No. Probably not.” I step closer so we’re only inches apart. “But I can’t seem to let it go.”
She doesn’t move away. She doesn’t break eye contact.
Yes. She’d definitely let me kiss her. I’m sure of it.
My heart pounds and it’s all I can do to keep my nonchalant demeanor in place.
“Is that what we are, Kayla?” I lower my voice with a crooked grin. “Strangers?”
She meets my crooked grin and raises me a tipped chin. Her eyes are steel and sure, not giving anything away, and I suddenly feel unsure.
I lean in.
She doesn’t react. But she also doesn’t back away.
Kissing her is a bad idea.
Her lips part, ever so slightly, a thin seam of wet flesh forming between the soft skin of her pretty lips, and all my reservations vanish.

About Chelsea Fine


Chelsea lives in Phoenix, Arizona, where she spends most of her time writing stories, painting murals, and avoiding housework at all costs. She's ridiculously bad at doing dishes and claims to be allergic to laundry. Her obsessions include: superheroes, coffee, sleeping-in, and crazy socks. She lives with her husband and two children, who graciously tolerate her inability to resist teenage drama on TV and her complete lack of skill in the kitchen. 

Social Media Links: | Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads 

ENTER TO WIN

  a Rafflecopter giveaway