Thursday, March 26, 2015

FALL WITH ME by Jennifer L. Armentrout; Book Review

By: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published by: Avon Books
To Be Released On: 3/31/15
Series: Wait for You #4
Rating: 4.5 stars - I Really Enjoyed This One!
Source: book from publisher to review, in exchange for my honest review
Pre-Order from: Amazon | Barnes and Noble |  iBooks | Kobo
Add it to Goodreads

Eleven months ago, bartender and weird-shirt-wearing extraordinaire Roxy and Officer Reece Anders had a one night stand. Well, kind of. She’s been in love with him since she was fifteen, and he wishes that night they shared never happened. She’s sworn him off forever, but the past and future collide, forcing her to rely on the one man who broke her heart not once, but twice.

Her best friend since birth has been in a long-term care facility since he became a victim of a hate crime years ago, and the person who put him in there is out of prison and wanting to make amends with him and Roxy. She’s not sure she has room for forgiveness in her and when she begins to receive frightening messages and is on the receiving end of escalating violence, she thinks she knows who is to blame. The man who already destroyed one life already.

But Reece isn’t convinced. The threats are too personal, and even if Roxy doesn’t believe him, he’s not willing to let anyone hurt her. Including himself. He’s already messed up more than once when it comes to Roxy and he’s not going to let history repeat itself.

FALL WITH ME is another fabulous Jennifer L. Armentrout book to fall in love with. 

Fall With Me has a wonderful cast of characters. Jennifer has a way of writing her characters. With each book in this series, I feel like I'm getting to know people rather than just characters on a page. The characters in Fall With Me were no different. They are characters I've come to really care about, and love. I liked seeing all my previous favorite characters back together again, even if it is only for brief moments. Their presences, like with the rest of the series, are present through out the book. I liked seeing them interact even more within this story. 

I totally fell in love with Reece. Oh he is an alpha male who makes wearing a cop uniform hot. Not that cop uniforms aren't hot, but Reece, well he makes it a whole new kind of hot. What I loved about Reece is he's more than just looks. Reece is that all around great guy you can't help but fall in love with. He's far from perfect, he's flawed, and his own demons he's dealing with. He's also strong, and unwavering, especially when it comes to Roxy. He is a patient guy, and he goes after what he wants, which is Roxy.  I love how he treats Roxy. I love how devoted, and patient he is with her, which he has to be, because Roxy isn't so easily swayed, despite her feelings for him. The history they have together fuels the steam factor in this book. It also makes for some great laugh out loud moments, when Roxy's mom makes comments about the two of them together. Roxy and Reece's mothers are close friends, and let's just say they full approve of this relationship. 

Roxy is a fun character whom I enjoyed getting to reading about. I wish I could say I can rock the glasses look like she can. And, I totally want Roxy to go shopping with me, because I want her awesome t-shirts. She wears shirts with sayings on them, that I would totally wear. Roxy has this vibe about it that I loved. She's artistic, loyal, devoted, and fiercely protective of her friends, and those she cares about. Roxy is also in place that holds her back. That place is not so much of wear she's living, vs her being trapped by something she has to learn to let go of, move on from, and forgive herself of. I emotionally connected with her in her journey of learning to let go. I like Roxy, but there's a few things that I got annoyed with, with her. It's a good think I liked reading this story, and I liked Roxy, flaws and all, because he pushing Reece away as much as she did got really old, really fast, to the point it was annoying. Thankfully Reece is a take charge guy, and isn't someone who gets pushed away so easily. The other thing that I had an issue with has to do with some crazy things that were going on, the Roxy didn't speak up about. Especially with how dangerous the situation got to.

True to Jennifer's books, the romance in this book is hot! I love the history Reece and and Roxy have. It boils over to this steamy chemistry that ignites the scenes when they're around each other. I'm talking before anything even happens. So yeah, when they're together... *fans self* it gets hot really quick. I love the steamy romance, and the passion between the two of them, but I also love the little things. One of my favorite moments had to do with Reece getting some paints, and a few things that meant a lot to Roxy. As in he knew what these things meant, and it meant a lot to her that he knew that. Gah, okay this isn't making sense, but you'll know what I'm talking about when you read the scene. I can't go into further detail without spoiling something. Reece and Roxy's romance is sizzling, addictive, and hot. It's fantastic!

Jennifer proved she doesn't just know how to write a sweltering romance, she knows how to write suspense as well. Holy crap, the creep factor was in full creep mode in this book. The events that were happening were unpredictable, but it didn't take me long to have my suspects narrowed down. I ended up being right about who was behind all the crazy that was going down. I mean crazy as in it made me a little jumpy thinking about all that was going on to Roxy. When you read about the creepy stuff, you'll know what I was annoyed with how Roxy handled those scenes. Now, with the creepy going on, I loved how protective the guys were of Roxy. This goes beyond just Reece, though Reece was definitely the sexy, protective alpha in this book. He also showed a great deal of restraint when it came down to it. That's saying something without giving anything away. 

For as much as I LOVE Jennifer's books (I've read all of them), adore her characters, and loved this book, there is something that bothered me a bit this time around. I love Jennifer's writing style. Whether it's YA, NA or Adult, I, for the most part I know what I'll get when I read her books, and I love that. However, this time around I got annoyed with the pop culture references in this book (which are not a lot), and some repetitiveness with one-liners that her other books also have. I'm bothered that this bugged me. I'm going to chalk this up to the amount of books I read, and the fact that I recently re-read one of Jennifer's books prior to reading this one, so these things stood out to me more. It didn't take anything away from the story, and I actually wish this was something that didn't stand out to me, but it did.

Over all, FALL WITH ME is another fantastic  Jennifer L. Armentrout book that will have her fans falling in love with Reece and Roxy. True to the other books in this series, I loved the way the story wrapped up, but also left me wanting me so much. I'm addicted to this series! While many things are answered in this book, there are still a few things I'm looking forward to finding out more about in the next book, like what some of Reece's demons are. Jennifer Armentrout knows how to hook her readers. I can not wait to get my hands on the next book. Judging with by the way this book ended, it's going to be fabulous! Which all of Jennifer's books are. 

Wednesday, March 18, 2015

Book News from Atria Books: Cover Reveals for Colleen Hoover and Renee Carlino



HOT NEWS FROM ATRIA BOOKS:
TWO COVERS REVEALS

Last week was a pretty exciting week at Atria Books, but if you blinked, you might have missed some of our big news. Just in case you weren’t stalking twitter/instagram/facebook on March 7th, we wanted to share the new looks for both Colleen Hoover’s next heartwrenching page-turner, NOVEMBER 9 (out November 10th) and Renée Carlino’s gorgeous and intriguing BEFORE WE WERE STRANGERS (out August 18th).

Read on to check out these covers and learn more about two of our most anticipated reads of 2015!

Without further ado….


ABOUT NOVEMBER NINE


NOVEMBER NINE
BY COLLEEN HOOVER

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

Can Ben’s relationship with Fallon—and simultaneously his novel—be considered a love story if it ends in heartbreak?

NOVEMBER NINE by Colleen Hoover
Atria Books Paperback | 320 pages | ISBN: 9781501110344 | November 10, 2015 | $16.00
eBook: Atria Books | 320 pages | ISBN: 9781501110351 | November 10, 2015 | $7.99

PRE-ORDER (US):

PRE-ORDER (UK):


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Colleen Hoover is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Slammed, This Girl, Point of Retreat, Hopeless, Losing Hope, Finding Cinderella, Maybe Someday, Ugly Love, Maybe Not, and Confess. She lives in Texas with her husband and their three boys.

FIND COLLEEN ONLINE: 
Twitter: @ColleenHoover
Instagram: @ColleenHoover



ABOUT BEFORE WE WERE STRANGERS


BEFORE WE WERE STRANGERS
BY RENÉE CARLINO

During their senior year at NYU, Grace and Matt struck up a friendship over Jeff Buckley, Pearl Jam, and the Ramones. She was going to be a world-class cellist and he was going to be a famous photographer, their paths destined to diverge after graduation.

Even after an afternoon pub crawl ended in their drunken, spontaneous wedding, their visions for the future never overlapped enough for them to be together. The summer after college, he left his “ex-wife” on good terms and went to Brazil to work for National Geographic. They vowed to stay in touch and see each other soon.

They never did.

Fifteen years later, back in New York City, Matt sees Grace as she boards the J train. They’re both different in a hundred ways, and yet they’re still the same. But just as they recognize each other, just as he understands what he left behind all those years ago, the train pulls away. His only recourse is to send a missed connections letter out into the world, and hope she remembers where to look.

BEFORE WE WERE STRANGERS by Renée Carlino
Atria Books Paperback | 320 pages | ISBN: 9781501105777 | August 18, 2015 | $15.00
eBook: Atria Books | 320 pages | ISBN: 9781501105784 | August 18, 2015 | $7.99

PRE-ORDER:


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Renée Carlino is the author of Sweet Thing, Nowhere But Here, and After the Rain. She lives in Southern California with her husband, two sons, and their sweet dog, June. When she's not at the beach with her boys or working on her next book, she likes to spend her time reading, going to concerts, and eating dark chocolate.

FIND RENÉE ONLINE:

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Celebrate the final Marked Man with six weeks of Jay Crownover

The last book In Jay Crownover Marked Men Series is almost out. I know, it's sad to think this series is coming to an end. Don't worry, Avon/William Morrow has a lot in store to celebrate ASA's release. Celebrate the final Marked Man with six weeks of Jay Crownover! Check out all the ways fans get involved in celebrating ASA's release and the end of a fabulous series from Jay Crownover. 



Excerpt Reveal
Vilma’s Book Blog and USA Today’s Happy Ever After gave us our first look at ASA today with a reveal of chapter one!  

Pre-Order Goodies
If you pre-order ASA and enter your information in at the following link, we’ll send you a set of all 6 Marked Men posters once ASA is on sale! Pre-order link: http://a.pgtb.me/LQX2w6
Find a link to your favorite bookseller here: http://www.harpercollins.com/9780062333087/asa

Marked Men Read Along
Each week, starting this week, we’ll host a Read Along on the Between the Covers Facebook of one of the Marked Men books. We’ll set up an event page where we invite you to post your thoughts as you fall in love with Rule, Jet, Rome, Nash, and Rowdy all over again. Throughout the week, Jay may pop in to answer questions or offer up her own thoughts on each book. At the end of each week, we’ll pick one participant to win a signed set of all 6 books (yes, including ASA!!). So that’s five chances you have to win just by chatting about your favorite book boyfriends!

Here are the dates for the Read Along:
3/16-3/20 #RuleWeek (Get started here).
3/23-3/27 #JetWeek
3/30-4/3 #RomeWeek
4/6-4/10 #NashWeek
4/13-4/17 #RowdyWeek
4/20-4/24 #AsaWeek

You can take the conversation to Twitter using the hashtags listed! Tweet your favorite lines, why that particular Marked Man is your favorite, anything! Also, if you write about your reread on your own blog and tweet us about it, we’ll try to feature some of those posts on Between the Covers and AvonRomance.com!

Quizzes! 
Just for fun, you can take these two Marked Men quizzes!
Which Marked Man should you marry? Find out here: http://bit.ly/1BPpapf
How well do you know the Marked Men? Jay will reveal a Marked Men trivia quiz later this week—be on the lookout!  

KissCon Goes Between the Covers
And don’t forget that Jay will be one of the featured authors at our special New Adult Edition of Avon KissCon! Details below or atwww.avonkisscon.com. There is a VIP reception and then a ticketed signing. You must purchase a ticket for each portion individually, but books will be sold and authors will be able to sign during both portions!
april 25, 2015
1pm: VIP social
3pm: Public signing
TOWSON, MARYLAND – Co-hosted by Ukazoo Books
Sheraton Baltimore North
903 Dulaney Valley Road, Towson, Maryland, 21204
Featured Authors: Jennifer L. Armentrout, Cora Carmack, Jay Crownover, Megan Erickson, Sophie Jordan, Caisey Quinn, Jamie Shaw

About ASA:
Starting over in Denver with a whole new circle of friends and family, Asa Cross struggles with being the man he knows everyone wants him to be and the man he knows he really is. A leopard doesn’t it change its spots and Asa has always been a predator. He doesn’t want to hurt those who love and rely on him, especially one stunning arresting cop who suddenly seems to be interested in him for far more than his penchant for breaking the law. But letting go of old habits is hard, and it’s easy to hit bottom when it’s the place you know best. 

Royal Hastings is quickly learning what the bottom looks like after a tragic situation at work threatens not only her career but her partner’s life. As a woman who has only ever had a few real friends she’s trying to muddle through her confusion and devastation all alone. Except she can’t stop thinking about the sexy southern bartender she locked up. Crushing on Asa is the last thing she needs but his allure is too strong to resist. His long criminal record can only hurt her already shaky career and chasing after a guy who has no respect for the law or himself can only end in heartbreak. A longtime criminal and a cop together just seems so wrong . . . but for Asa and Royal, being wrong together is the only right choice to make.   

Thursday, March 12, 2015

FALL WITH ME by Jennifer L. Armentrout; Book Trailer Reveal!

I am so excited about today's FALL WITH ME post! As if I wasn't already excited about FALL WITH ME's upcoming release, I am even more excited after watching this trailer. FALL WITH ME is a New Adult Contemporary Romance being published by Avon (William Morrow), an imprint of HarperCollins, and is a part of Jennifer L. Armentrout’s With You Saga. It is being released on March 31st, 2015!! Check it out and pre-order your copy today!!  


Check out this trailer!



About FALL WITH ME:

Eleven months ago, bartender and weird-shirt-wearing extraordinaire Roxy and Officer Reece Anders had a one night stand. Well, kind of. She’s been in love with him since she was fifteen, and he wishes that night they shared never happened. She’s sworn him off forever, but the past and future collide, forcing her to rely on the one man who broke her heart not once, but twice.

Her best friend since birth has been in a long-term care facility since he became a victim of a hate crime years ago, and the person who put him in there is out of prison and wanting to make amends with him and Roxy. She’s not sure she has room for forgiveness in her and when she begins to receive frightening messages and is on the receiving end of escalating violence, she thinks she knows who is to blame. The man who already destroyed one life already.

But Reece isn’t convinced. The threats are too personal, and even if Roxy doesn’t believe him, he’s not willing to let anyone hurt her. Including himself. He’s already messed up more than once when it comes to Roxy and he’s not going to let history repeat itself.


Purchase FALL WITH ME 

You can pre-order Fall With Me from: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | iBooks | Kobo
Fans can also pre-order a Personalized Copy of Fall With Me.

Anyone who pre-orders FALL WITH ME...AND fills out this form...will receive a bonus Cam and Avery scene! You can find the form here: http://bit.ly/1zeOizI

About Jennifer L. Armentrout:


# 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki.

Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. Her book Obsidian has been optioned for a major motion picture and her Covenant Series has been optioned for TV.

She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.


Nichole Chase’s SECRET ANNOUNCEMENT Reveal!


HERE’S THE SCOOP!

Fans of Nichole Chase’s Royal Series, we have a SUPER exciting announcement:


The American Royalty Series is coming!!!

HarperCollins will be publishing Nichole’s new series The American Royalty Series in Winter 2016, and you are NOT going to want to miss what Nichole has up her sleeve!


Things to Expect from The American Royalty Series:
·       Humor and witty banter
·       West Wing meets Scandal meets Suddenly Royal Mashup, anyone?
·       A cameo (or two) from the Royal Series
·       Drama
·       Jake. Jake. Jake.
·       Um….did I mention Jake?
·       The easy and beautiful writing you’ve come to know and love from Nichole Chase

A Message from Nichole:

I'm very excited to be working with HarperCollins to bring the American Royalty series to life. I'm very interested in the life of politics--there is so much that goes on behind the scenes that most people never hear about and it intertwines with our daily government and in some ways, affecting everyone. As I was thinking about that fact, Jake and Maddie's story began to take form and I found myself enthralled by the challenges they would face and just what their happy-ever-after would entail, if there could *be* a happy-ever-after.



About Book 1 (Title To Be Announced) in The American Royalty Series:

Color me jaded, but coming home just isn’t the same when you have to go through security before you can see your dad. Don’t get me wrong, everyone had to go through security to see my dad. Even Kings, Queens, celebrities, my step-mother and half-brother we’re given the metal detector treatment. It wasn’t like I was a hooligan being singled out. It’s just part of life when your father is president. Go figure.

Maddie’s father is in his second term as president and she could care less. Being a politician’s child has made her world weary and leery of being manipulated. When she comes home from college for her summer break, she thinks it’s the last time she’ll be in the white house. Her father’s term is almost over and she’ll finally be able to live the life she wanted. What she doesn’t count on is facing her nemesis, Jake Simmon, back from the war. As the son of the Vice President, she had constantly been paired with him for events and during campaign tours. The tabloids loved to speculate about a possible relationship, but that couldn’t be farther from the truth. Jake was the perfect politician’s son. He always did as he was asked, always smiled, and to her absolute horror always looked dreamy.

In other words, he was her exact opposite.

Jake was finally home, but he couldn’t wait to escape. Instead of searching for peace and quiet after losing his leg in Afghanistan, he was sitting in on campaign meetings and giving interviews. He had never felt so helpless in his life, not even after waking strapped to a table in a blistering hot med tent. His mother was intent on using his brand new disability as a campaign tool. Show off her wounded son so people would find her relatable. The only positive thing he had to focus on was the fact that he would get to see Maddie again, which was pathetic when you considered that they hated each other. She’d always gotten under his skin, throwing caution to the wind and doing what she’d wanted while he had walked the line. In a world where everyone looked at him with sympathy, he knew she wouldn’t hold back. And though he was loathe to admit it, one of his favorite past times was verbally sparring with the spunky brunette. What he isn’t counting on is how much they have both changed over the last two years.

ABOUT Nichole Chase:


Nichole Chase is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Suddenly Royal, Flukes, The Dark Betrayal Trilogy, and several short stories. She is also the instructor of Say What? a dialogue class at the Romance Academy.

Nichole lives in Georgia with her husband, energetic daughter, superhero dog, Sulcata tortoise, and two cats. When not writing, you may find her reading, painting, crafting, or chasing her daughter around the house while making monster noises.

LINKS:

Friday, March 6, 2015

Dirty Rowdy Thing by Christina Lauren, Book Review


Written by: Christina Lauren
Publisher: Gallery Books
Release Date: November 4, 2014
Series: Wild Seasons (book #2)
Source: Purchased


Rating: 5 out of 5 sexy stars

From the New York Times bestselling author of Beautiful Bastard, Beautiful Stranger, and Beautiful Player, Book Two of the brand-new Wild Seasons series that started with Sweet Filthy Boy—a story of friends, love, and lust.

Despite their rowdy hookups, Harlow and Finn don’t even like each other...which would explain why their marriage lasted only twelve hours. He needs to be in charge and takes whatever he wants. She lives by the Want-something-done? Do-it-yourself mantra. Maybe she’s too similar to the rugged fisherman—or just what he needs.
 

All I have to say is that Christina and Lauren did it again. They made me fall in love with their characters once more. In Dirty Rowdy Thing we find Harlow and Finn, the always feisty duo, doing what they do best–trying to outsnark and avoid each other. But chemistry is chemistry and some things cannot be stopped. Thank Heavens.

I’m going to do a little aside here and address my area of comfort, or discomfort, when reading NA/adult (i.e. not YA) romances. Finn is a fisherman and he has a penchant for, well, knotty things (See what I did there? He's a fisherman who knows his way around ropes and knots?). In case you missed my subtle hints, there's a little bit of tying up. Okay, am I getting blushy? Yes, I am. Is this something that made me feel a little uncomfortable? I’m not going to lie, it did. *lights up giant marquee sign* BUT, it didn’t stop me from finishing the story. Why, you ask? Because Christina and Lauren can write. Boy oh boy, can they write a story that explains it all. It explains the layer of family ties (sorry, I promise to stop the metaphor) around both Harlow and Finn. And these ties are layered and deep. They also explain the personal struggle that has brought Harlow and Finn to decisions that will affect their relationship.

Now on to the more important things – that chemistry I mentioned, there are pages of it! The pacing of this story is page-turner perfect. I guarantee that you will flip pages until you have the most important question of them all answered – will they or won’t they allow themselves to fall in love.

I continue to love this series and I am so looking forward to the third installment, Dark Wild Night, because Lola and Oliver are my favorite pairing of all. Who doesn’t love awkward geeks who can’t seem to figure it out? The release date is September 15th. This is going to be one looooooong summer.